Home / Accueil

Hangar

Hall Beach, Nunavut, Canada

Formally Recognized: 2000/01/19

Hangar HAL B14A Classified Federal Heritage Building; (Canada, North Warning System Office, 1998.)
Exterior photo
Operations sector of FOX-M Hall Beach set in a tundra landscape; Canada, DND, Photo Unit, ISC86-753
Operations sector of FOX-M Hall Beach
No Image

Other Name(s)

Hangar
HAL B14A
HAL B14A
FOX-M Hangar
FOX-M, Hangar

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1955/01/01 to 1956/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/06/09

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Located in a remote arctic area the Hangar building is a large square structure whose pointed roof peak forms a pediment, which is set between two columns. The columns serve as housing for the panel doors of the hangar and pre-fabricated metal paneling clad the exterior walls. The metal trim of the pediment and the towers is painted red. An emergency siren tower is set on the northwest corner of the hangar. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Hangar building is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental value.

Historical Value
The Hangar building at FOX-M main station, provides one of the best illustrations associated with the continental air-defence programs during the Cold War, the opening of the Canadian Arctic to Federal Government programs and services, the growth of Hall Beach, an important Arctic community, and its role in establishing and maintaining a Canadian military presence in the Canadian Arctic. As part of one of four main stations constructed for the (Distant Early Warning) DEW Line, the Hangar was part of a joint US-Canada effort to monitor Arctic airspace through an innovative radar and radio system designed to provide advance warning to North American military authorities of a possible air attack from the Soviet Union. FOX-M also served as a regional communications hub, supply center and administrative base for 8 to 10 auxiliary and intermediate stations in the area and the Hangar was a critical component in the logistical operations for supplying and staffing the DEW Line station.

Architectural Value
The Hangar building is a good example of a functional military structure. Its design reveals a unified design concept that resulted from a skillfully planned, expertly executed and highly funded building program. It is distinguished by its massive scale, symmetrical, classical façade composition with strong vertical lines and its solid appearance counterbalanced by its thin skin of metal-paneled cladding.

Environmental Value
The Hangar, located adjacent to the Air Terminal Building is of strategic value in establishing the technological/ military character of the military-industrial complex setting. Together these two buildings represent the first line grid pattern that defines the arrangement of buildings and the aviation function of the airfield sector. The structure sits on the gravel bed that covers the airfield sector and connects all the buildings to the airfield and to one another. The Hangar’s contribution to the setting is reinforced by its scale and easily discernible function. The DEW line station is well known in the adjacent community of Hall Beach and visitors are often treated to a visit to the station.

Sources:
FOX-M, Hall Beach, Nunavut, Federal Heritage Building Report 99-021.

Hangar, FOX-M Station, Hall Beach, Nunavut, Heritage Character Statement, 99-021.

Character-Defining Elements

The following character defining elements of the Hangar building should be respected, for example:

Its functional military structure, form, construction and materials manifested in;
-Its massive scale and massing of a square structure with a pitched roof that is 10m above grade level at its highest point and 6.5m above grade level at the ends, and an emergency siren tower surmounting the northwest corner of the hangar.
-Its roof supported by modified Pratt steel trusses that span the width of the building and are anchored into a steel frame, which rests on concrete footings.
-Its classical composition seen in the façade with the roof peak forming a pediment set between two columns which serve as housing for the large sliding panel doors which create strong vertical lines, its smooth lower panels and its protective coverings in column spaces.
-Its cladding of pre-fabricated metal-panels.
-The painted bright red metal trim of the pediment and the towers.
-Its gravel pad as the primary landscape feature.

The manner in which the Hangar building defines the arrangement of buildings in the airfield sector and establishes the technological/military character of the FOX-M Station site in its military-industrial complex setting.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

2000/01/19

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Defence
Military Defence Installation

Historic

Architect / Designer

n/a

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

9263

Status

Published

Related Places

Exterior photo

Garage

Located in a remote arctic area the Garage, also known as Building B10A, is a large, steel framed, rectangular structure covered by a medium-pitch metal roof. The walls are…

Exterior photo

FOX-M, Air Terminal Building

Located on flat gravel in a remote Arctic site, the Air Terminal Building at the FOX-M Station, is a one-storey steel frame structure of rectangular plan covered by a medium…

Exterior photo

Atwell Dormitory HAL B02C

Located on flat gravel in a remote Arctic site, the ATWELL Dormitory is a long narrow, prefabricated one-storey building covered by a wood-framed pitched roof. The exterior of the…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Hangar

Hall Beach, Nunavut, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 2000/01/19

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé Hangar H14A; (Canada, North Warning System Office, 1998.)
Photo extérieur
Secteur des opérations de FOX-M Hall Beach dans un paysage de toundra; Canada, DND, Photo Unit, ISC86-753
Secteur des opérations de FOX-M Hall Beach
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Hangar
HAL B14A
HAL B14A
FOX-M Hangar
FOX-M, Hangar

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1955/01/01 à 1956/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/06/09

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Situé dans une région reculée de l'Arctique, le hangar est une grande structure carrée coiffée d'un toit à pente raide dont la pointe forme un fronton qui est flanqué par deux colonnes. Les colonnes forment le bâti des pans des portes du hangar; les murs extérieurs sont revêtus de panneaux de métal préfabriqués. La garniture métallique du fronton et les tours sont peintes en rouge. Une tour de signalisation d'urgence se dresse dans le coin nord-ouest du hangar. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le hangar a été désigné édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le hangar de la station FOX-M est associé aux programmes de défense aérienne continentale en vigueur pendant la Guerre froide, à l’expansion des programmes et services du gouvernement fédéral dans l’Arctique canadien, à la croissance de Hall Beach, importante collectivité de l’Arctique, et à son rôle dans l’établissement et le maintien d’une présence militaire canadienne dans l’Arctique canadien. À titre d’élément d’une des quatre principales stations construites pour le réseau d’alerte avancée (DEW), le hangar s’inscrit dans le contexte des efforts déployés conjointement par le Canada et les États-Unis pour surveiller l’espace aérien dans l’Arctique grâce à un système de radar et de radio innovateur conçu pour alerter les autorités militaires nord-américaines d’un éventuel assaut aérien lancé par l’Union soviétique. La station FOX-M a aussi fait office de centre de communications régional, de centre d’approvisionnement et de centre administratif desservant entre 8 et 10 stations auxiliaires et intermédiaires. Le hangar occupait une place critique dans les opérations logistiques, du point de vue de l’approvisionnement et de la dotation de la station du réseau d’alerte avancée.

Valeur architecturale
Le hangar est un bel exemple d’une structure militaire fonctionnelle. Sa conception aboutit à un plan unifié qui est le fait d’une planification habile, d’une exécution soignée et d’un programme de construction assorti d’un financement élevé. Il se distingue par son échelle massive, la composition symétrique et classique de sa façade caractérisée par une verticalité prononcée et le fait que son apparence solide est compensée par le revêtement mince fait de panneaux métalliques.

Valeur environnementale
Le hangar, qui est adjacent à l’aérogare, a une valeur stratégique en ce qu’il préserve et affirme le caractère militaire et technique de l’endroit, dans son cadre de complexe militaire et industriel. Conjointement, ces bâtiments forment la première ligne du quadrillage qui régit la disposition des bâtiments et la fonction associée à l’aviation du secteur. La structure repose sur un lit de gravier qui couvre le secteur du terrain d’aviation et qui en relie tous les bâtiments. La contribution du hangar au site est renforcée par son échelle et sa fonction facilement reconnaissable. La station FOX-M du réseau d’alerte avancée est bien connue dans la collectivité voisine de Hall Beach et les gens qui s’y rendent ont souvent le plaisir d’une visite de la station.

Références :
Station FOX-M, Hall Beach (Nunavut). Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine rapport de recherche 99-021.

Hangar, Station FOX-M, Hall Beach (Nunavut). Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale
99-021.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments suivants, qui définissent le caractère du hangar, devraient être respectés, par exemple :

sa structure militaire fonctionnelle, sa forme, l’exécution de la construction et le choix des matériaux, c’est-à-dire ;
- l’échelle massive et le volume de cette structure carrée coiffée d’un toit à pente raide qui se situe à 10 mètres au-dessus du niveau du sol en son faîte et à 6,5 mètres au-dessus du niveau du sol en ses extrémités et dont le coin nord-ouest est percé par une tour de signalisation d’urgence;
- le toit repose sur des poutres d’acier triangulées Pratt modifiées qui s’étendent sur toute la largeur du bâtiment et qui sont fixées à l’ossature en acier posée sur des piliers en béton;
- la composition classique de la façade manifestée par la pointe du toit qui forme un fronton flanqué de deux colonnes qui servent de bâti aux grandes portes coulissantes, ensemble à verticalité prononcée, les panneaux inférieurs lisses et les revêtements protecteurs dans l’espacement des colonnes;
- le revêtement de panneaux métalliques nervurés préfabriqués;
- la peinture rouge vif de la garniture métallique du fronton et des tours;
- le lit de gravier, principale caractéristique du paysage.

La façon dont le hangar définit la disposition des bâtiments dans le secteur du terrain d’aviation et affirme le caractère technique et militaire de l’endroit, dans son cadre de complexe militaire et industriel.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

2000/01/19

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Défense
Installation de défense militaire

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

9263

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Exterior photo

Gare

Situé dans une région reculée de l’Arctique, le Garage (bâtiment HAL 10A) est une grande structure rectangulaire à ossature en acier coiffée d’un toit de métal à pente moyenne.…

Exterior photo

FOX-M, Édifice de l'aérogare

Situé sur un terrain de gravier plat éloigné dans l’Arctique, l’Édifice de l'aérogare dans la station FOX-M est une structure d’un étage à ossature en acier coiffée d’un toit de…

Exterior photo

Dortoir Atwell, bâtiment HAL B02C

Construction de plain-pied établie sur une surface plane en gravier et située dans un hameau isolé de l'Arctique, le dortoir ATWELL est un bâtiment préfabriqué long et étroit…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches