Home / Accueil

Atwell Dormitory HAL B02C

Hall Beach, Nunavut, Canada

Formally Recognized: 2000/01/19

Atwell Dormitory HAL B02C Classified Federal Heritage Building; (Canada, North Warning System Office, 1998.)
Exterior photo
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

Atwell Dormitory HAL B02C
Atwell Dormitory HAL B02C
Dortoir Atwell bâtiment HAL B02C

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1956/01/01 to 1957/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/07/21

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Located on flat gravel in a remote Arctic site, the ATWELL Dormitory is a long narrow, prefabricated one-storey building covered by a wood-framed pitched roof. The exterior of the building is covered with painted metal cladding. The main entrance to the building is located in the middle of the long side-wall and faces the adjacent dormitory building. Small windows are located at regular intervals along the structure. The Dormitory is built on a raised wood open-sided platform. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The ATWELL Dormitory building is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental value.

Historical Value
The ATWELL Dormitory building at FOX-M main station provides one of the best illustrations associated with the continental air-defence programs during the Cold War, the opening of the Canadian Arctic to Federal Government programs and services, the growth of Hall Beach, an important Arctic community, and its role in establishing and maintaining a Canadian military presence in the Canadian Arctic. As part of one of four main stations constructed for the Distant Early Warning (DEW) Line, the ATWELL Dormitory as part of the FOX-M complex was part of a joint US-Canada effort to monitor Arctic airspace through an innovative radar and radio system designed to provide advance warning to North American military authorities of a possible air attack from the Soviet Union. FOX-M also served as a regional communications hub, supply center and administrative base for 8 to 10 auxiliary and intermediate stations in the area and the ATWELL Dormitory contributed to the residential needs of the main station.

Architectural Value
The ATWELL Dormitory is a good example of a functional military structure. Its design reveals a unified design concept that resulted from a skillfully planned, expertly executed and highly funded building program. Its high quality materials and components are part of a design program that responded directly to both military considerations and to the remote Arctic location of the site. Its raised platform foundation, its very good functional design and the gravel pad around the building area also demonstrate a competent engineering solution for quick construction in the permafrost zone of the Canadian North.

Environmental Value
The ATWELL Dormitory is located in the airfield sector of the FOX-M DEW Line station and is set within a tightly formed row of warehouses and dormitories. They sit on the gravel bed that covers the airfield sector and by which all the buildings and the airfield are connected. The ATWELL Dormitory contributes to the present military character of the setting. The DEW Line station is well known in the adjacent community of Hall Beach and visitors to the hamlet are often treated to a visit to the station.

FOX-M, Hall Beach, Nunavut, Federal Heritage Building Report 99-021

ATWELL (ATWELL) Building 20C, FOX-M Station, Hall Beach, Nunavut, Heritage Character Statement

Character-Defining Elements

The following character defining elements of the ATWELL Dormitory should be respected, for example:

Its functional military structure, form, construction and materials as manifested in:

- Its scale and massing as a rectangular structure with a pitched roof.
- Its exterior prefabricated metal cladding and the size, form and spacing of door
and window openings.
- The raised wood open-sided platform that the building rests on.
-The gravel pad as the primary landscape feature to provide a barrier between buildings
and the permafrost and to create a level surface for vehicle accessibility on the site.

The manner in which the ATWELL building defines the arrangement of buildings in the airfield sector and contributes to the technological/military character of the FOX-M Station site in its military-industrial complex setting.




Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date


Historical Information

Significant Date(s)


Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type



Group Residence

Architect / Designer




Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier




Related Places

Exterior photo


Located in a remote arctic area the Hangar building is a large square structure whose pointed roof peak forms a pediment, which is set between two columns. The columns serve as…

Exterior photo

Warehouse 2 HAL B13B

Located in a remote arctic area Warehouse No.1 is a one-storey, rectangular, steel framed, medium-pitched metal roof structure covered in steel cladding. The walls are composed of…

Exterior photo

FOX-M, Air Terminal Building

Located on flat gravel in a remote Arctic site, the Air Terminal Building at the FOX-M Station, is a one-storey steel frame structure of rectangular plan covered by a medium…


Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Dortoir Atwell, bâtiment HAL B02C

Hall Beach, Nunavut, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 2000/01/19

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé Dortoir Atwell, bâtiment HAL B02C; (Canada, North Warning System Office, 1998.)
Photo extérieur
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Dortoir Atwell, bâtiment HAL B02C
Atwell Dormitory HAL B02C
Dortoir Atwell bâtiment HAL B02C

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1956/01/01 à 1957/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/07/21

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Construction de plain-pied établie sur une surface plane en gravier et située dans un hameau isolé de l'Arctique, le dortoir ATWELL est un bâtiment préfabriqué long et étroit coiffé d'un toit en pente à charpente de bois. L'extérieur du bâtiment présente un revêtement métallique recouvert de peinture. Le dortoir a son entrée principale au milieu d'un des murs longs, immédiatement en face du dortoir voisin. De petites fenêtres sont placées à intervalles réguliers sur toute la longueur du bâtiment. Une plate-forme en bois surélevée et ouverte sur les côtés tient lieu de fondation. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le dortoir ATWELL a été désigné édifice classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il représente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le dortoir ATWELL, à la station principale FOX-M, est un des éléments qui évoquent le mieux les programmes de défense aérienne continentale mis sur pied pendant la guerre froide, l'ouverture de l'Arctique canadien aux programmes et services du gouvernement fédéral, la croissance de Hall Beach, important hameau de l'Arctique, et le rôle de celui-ci dans l'établissement et le maintien d'une présence militaire canadienne dans l'Arctique canadien. Le dortoir ATWELL, en tant qu'élément constitutif de FOX-M, une des quatre stations principales construites pour les besoins du réseau d'alerte avancé (réseau DEW), faisait partie d'un programme commun mis sur pied par les États-Unis et le Canada pour surveiller l'espace aérien au-dessus de l'Arctique, surveillance exercée au moyen d'un système radar et radio novateur destiné à avertir à l'avance les autorités militaires nord-américaines de la possibilité d'une attaque aérienne soviétique. FOX-M tenait aussi lieu de station pivot de communication, de centre d'approvisionnement et de base administrative pour 8 à 10 stations auxiliaires ou intermédiaires de la région, et le dortoir ATWELL servait de logement pour une partie du personnel de la station principale.

Valeur architecturale
Le dortoir ATWELL est un bon exemple de bâtiment militaire fonctionnel. Sa conception dénote une planification d’ensemble unifiée, résultat d'un programme de construction intelligemment planifié, exécuté avec un grand savoir-faire et ayant bénéficié d'un financement considérable. Ses matériaux et composantes de grande qualité ont été prévus dans un programme dicté directement par des considérations militaires et des caractéristiques particulières au climat arctique. Sa fondation surélevée en bois, sa conception fonctionnelle de très grande qualité et le lit de gravier sous-jacent offrent une solution technique habile à la construction rapide de bâtiments en zone de pergélisol dans le Nord canadien.

Valeur environnementale
Le dortoir ATWELL est situé dans le secteur de l'aérodrome de la station FOX-M à l'intérieur d'une rangée serrée d'entrepôts et de dortoirs. Ces derniers sont construits au-dessus du lit de gravier qui recouvre le secteur de l'aérodrome et qui relie les bâtiments à l'aérodrome et les bâtiments entre eux. Le dortoir a une part importante dans le caractère militaire actuel des lieux. La station FOX-M est un endroit très familier à la population du hameau de Hall Beach, situé non loin, et les personnes de passage au hameau se voient souvent offrir une visite à la station.

Sources :
FOX-M, Hall Beach, Nunavut. Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche 99-021

ATWELL (ATWELL) Dormitory, Building 20C, FOX-M Station, Hall Beach, Nunavut, Heritage Character Statement 99-021 [non traduit]

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments caractéristiques suivants du dortoir ATWELL devraient être respectés, par exemple :

Son agencement, sa forme, sa construction et ses matériaux militaires fonctionnels, comme en témoignent :

-sa taille et sa volumétrie de bâtiment rectangulaire surmonté d'un toit en pente;
-les panneaux métalliques préfabriqués de son enveloppe extérieure ainsi que la taille, la forme et l'espacement de ses ouvertures;
-la plate-forme en bois surélevée et ouverte sur les côtés qui lui sert de fondation;
-le lit de gravier, élément fondamental du paysage, qui forme une barrière isolante entre les bâtiments et le pergélisol et qui offre une surface plane où peuvent circuler les véhicules.

La manière dont le dortoir ATWELL définit la disposition des bâtiments dans le secteur de l'aérodrome et établit le caractère technologico-militaire de la station FOX-M dans son contexte militaro-industriel.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

2000/01/19

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Résidence
Résidence collective

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

9261

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Exterior photo

Hangar

Situé dans une région reculée de l'Arctique, le hangar est une grande structure carrée coiffée d'un toit à pente raide dont la pointe forme un fronton qui est flanqué par deux…

Exterior photo

Entrepôt 2 HAL B13B

Situé dans une région reculée de l’Arctique, l’entrepôt 1 est une structure rectangulaire d’un étage, à ossature en acier, coiffée d’un toit de métal à pente moyenne dont la…

Exterior photo

FOX-M, Édifice de l'aérogare

Situé sur un terrain de gravier plat éloigné dans l’Arctique, l’Édifice de l'aérogare dans la station FOX-M est une structure d’un étage à ossature en acier coiffée d’un toit de…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches