Home / Accueil


Hall Beach, Nunavut, Canada

Formally Recognized: 2000/01/19

Garage HAL B10A Classified Federal Heritage Building; (Canada, North Warning System Office, 1998.)
Exterior photo
Operations sector of FOX-M Hall Beach set in a tundra landscape; Canada, DND, Photo Unit, ISC86-753
Operations sector of FOX-M Hall Beach
No Image

Other Name(s)

FOX-M Garage
FOX-M, Garage

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1955/01/01 to 1956/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/05/13

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

Located in a remote arctic area the Garage, also known as Building B10A, is a large, steel framed, rectangular structure covered by a medium-pitch metal roof. The walls are composed of pre-fabricated metal panels. The main façade contains a personnel door and five overhead doors all of steel and framed in metal. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Garage building is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental value.

Historical Value
The Garage at FOX-M main station, provides one of the best illustrations associated with the continental air-defence programs during the Cold War, the opening of the Canadian Arctic to Federal Government programs and services, the growth of Hall Beach, an important Arctic community, and its role in establishing and maintaining a Canadian military presence in the Canadian Arctic. As part of one of four main stations constructed for the (Distant Early Warning) DEW Line, the Garage was part of a joint US-Canada effort to monitor Artic airspace through an innovative radar and radio system designed to provide advance warning to North American military authorities of a possible air attack from the Soviet Union. FOX-M also served as a regional communications hub, supply center and administrative base for 8 to 10 auxiliary and intermediate stations in the area and the Garage played a critical role in servicing and maintaining the equipment and buildings on the isolated DEW Line station.

Architectural Value
The Garage is a good example of a functional military structure. Its utilitarian design reveals a unified design concept that resulted from a skillfully planned, expertly executed and highly funded building program. It is distinguished by its rectangular utilitarian form, solid construction materials, and arrangement and scale of openings. Its high quality materials and test pre-fabricated components are part of a design program that responded directly to both military considerations and to the remote Artic location of the site. Its raised platform foundation and the gravel pad in the building area also demonstrates a competent engineering solution for building in permafrost conditions that set a standard for construction across the Canadian North.

Environmental Value
The Garage’s is located in the operation sector of the FOX-M DEW Line station and occupies a site on the gravel bed that creates a uniform surface for the operations sector. The Garage is also set parallel to Module Train ‘B’ in alignment with other smaller service buildings. This arrangement of buildings along with the Garage’s large scale is of strategic value in maintaining and establishing the technological/ military character of the site in its military-industrial complex setting. Huge corner reflectors at the edge of the operations sector contribute to the site’s historic communications function. The DEW Line station is well known in the adjacent community of Hall Beach and visitors to the hamlet are often treated to a visit to the station.

FOX-M, Hall Beach, Nunavut, Federal Heritage Building Report 99-021; Garage, FOX-M Station, Hall Beach, Nunavut, Heritage Character Statement, 99-021.

Character-Defining Elements

The character defining elements of the Garage should be respected.

Its functional military structure, its rectangular utilitarian form, arrangement and scale of openings solid construction materials, and components responsive to both military and climactic conditions as manifested in;
-its simple utilitarian rectangular steel framed structure covered by a medium-pitch metal roof;
-the main façade containing a personnel door and five overhead doors that reflect the building’s function;
-its walls composed of metal pre-fabricated panels and all openings framed in metal and doors clad with steel;
-its heated sections raised platform foundation above ground level engineered to reduce heat loss;
-the gravel pad as the primary landscape feature to provide a barrier between buildings and the permafrost and to create a level surface for accessibility on the site.

The manner in which the Garage establishes the technological/military character of the site in its military-industrial complex setting.




Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date


Historical Information

Significant Date(s)


Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type


Military Support


Architect / Designer

LaPierre, Litchfield and Partners, and Western Electric Company



Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier




Related Places

Exterior photo


Located in a remote arctic area the Hangar building is a large square structure whose pointed roof peak forms a pediment, which is set between two columns. The columns serve as…

Exterior photo

FOX-M, Air Terminal Building

Located on flat gravel in a remote Arctic site, the Air Terminal Building at the FOX-M Station, is a one-storey steel frame structure of rectangular plan covered by a medium…


Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Gare

Hall Beach, Nunavut, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 2000/01/19

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé Garage HAL B10A; (Canada, North Warning System Office, 1998.)
Photo extérieur
Secteur des opérations de FOX-M Hall Beach dans un paysage de toundra; Canada, DND, Photo Unit, ISC86-753
Secteur des opérations de FOX-M Hall Beach
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

HAL B10A
HAL B10A
FOX-M Garage
Gare
FOX-M, Garage

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1955/01/01 à 1956/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/05/13

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Situé dans une région reculée de l’Arctique, le Garage (bâtiment HAL 10A) est une grande structure rectangulaire à ossature en acier coiffée d’un toit de métal à pente moyenne. Les murs sont formés de panneaux métalliques préfabriqués. La façade principale est percée d’une porte pour le personnel et de cinq portes basculantes, toutes en acier avec des cadres de métal. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le Garage a été désigné édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le Garage de la station FOX-M est associé aux programmes de défense aérienne continentale en vigueur pendant la Guerre froide, à l’expansion des programmes et services du gouvernement fédéral dans l’Arctique canadien, à la croissance de Hall Beach, importante collectivité de l’Arctique, et à son rôle dans l’établissement et le maintien d’une présence militaire canadienne dans l’Arctique canadien. À titre d’élément d’une des quatre principales stations construites pour le réseau d’alerte avancée (DEW), le Garage s’inscrit dans le contexte des efforts déployés conjointement par le Canada et les États-Unis pour surveiller l’espace aérien dans l’Arctique grâce à un système de radar et de radio innovateur conçu pour alerter les autorités militaires nord-américaines d’un éventuel assaut aérien lancé par l’Union soviétique. La station FOX-M a aussi fait office de centre de communications régional, de centre d’approvisionnement et de centre administratif desservant entre 8 et 10 stations auxiliaires et intermédiaires. Le Garage jouait un rôle critique en ce qu’il était consacré à la réparation et à l’entretien du matériel et des bâtiments se trouvant à cet emplacement isolé du réseau DEW.

Valeur architecturale
Le Garage est un bel exemple d’une structure militaire fonctionnelle. Sa conception utilitaire aboutit à un plan unifié qui est le fait d’une planification habile, d’une exécution soignée et d’un programme de construction assorti d’un financement élevé. Le Garage se distingue par sa forme rectangulaire utilitaire, la solidité des matériaux de construction et l’agencement ainsi que la taille des ouvertures. Les matériaux de haute qualité et les composants préfabriqués testés s’inscrivent dans le cadre d’un programme de conception découlant directement de considérations d’ordre militaire et d’exigences associées à un emplacement lointain dans l’Arctique Sa fondation en plate-forme surélevée ainsi que le lit de gravier dans l’aire du bâtiment témoignent d’un emploi astucieux des techniques du génie pour construire un édifice dans un milieu de pergélisol. Ce modèle s’est d’ailleurs imposé comme norme de construction dans tout le Nord canadien.

Valeur environnementale
Le Garage se trouve dans le secteur opérationnel de la station d’alerte avancée FOX-M, à un emplacement du lit de gravier qui crée une surface plane dans le secteur opérationnel. Le Garage est aussi parallèle au train modulaire « B », en ligne avec d’autres bâtiments de service plus petits. Cette disposition, ainsi que l’échelle impressionnante du Garage, a une valeur stratégique en ce qu’elle préserve et affirme le caractère militaire et technique de l’endroit, dans son cadre de complexe militaire et industriel. D’énormes réflecteurs en coin délimitent le périmètre du secteur opérationnel et affirment la fonction historique de communications de l’endroit. La station FOX-M du réseau d’alerte avancée est bien connue dans la collectivité voisine de Hall Beach et les gens qui s’y rendent ont souvent le plaisir d’une visite de la station.

Références :
Station FOX-M, Hall Beach (Nunavut). Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine rapport de recherche 99-021.

Garage, Station FOX-M, Hall Beach (Nunavut). Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale
99-021.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments suivants, qui définissent le caractère du Garage, devraient être respectés, par exemple :

sa structure militaire fonctionnelle, sa forme rectangulaire utilitaire, la disposition et l’échelle des ouvertures, la solidité des matériaux de construction et les composants utilisés, dont le choix est dicté tant par les besoins militaires que par les rigueurs du climat, c’est-à-dire :
- sa structure rectangulaire simple et utilitaire, à ossature en acier, coiffée d’un toit de métal à pente moyenne;
- la façade principale percée une porte pour le personnel et cinq portes basculantes, reflétant la fonction du bâtiment;
- les murs formés de panneaux métalliques préfabriqués, les cadres des ouvertures en métal et les portes en acier;
- les parties chauffées de la fondation en plate-forme surélevée par rapport au niveau du sol, conçu pour limiter la perte de chaleur;
-le lit de gravier, principale caractéristique du paysage, qui fait office de barrière entre les bâtiments et le pergélisol et qui crée une surface plane destinée à rendre l’endroit plus accessible.

La façon dont le Garage affirme le caractère technique et militaire de l’endroit, dans son cadre de complexe militaire et industriel.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

2000/01/19

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Défense
Appui militaire

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

LaPierre, Litchfield and Partners, and Western Electric Company

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

9262

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Exterior photo

Hangar

Situé dans une région reculée de l'Arctique, le hangar est une grande structure carrée coiffée d'un toit à pente raide dont la pointe forme un fronton qui est flanqué par deux…

Exterior photo

FOX-M, Édifice de l'aérogare

Situé sur un terrain de gravier plat éloigné dans l’Arctique, l’Édifice de l'aérogare dans la station FOX-M est une structure d’un étage à ossature en acier coiffée d’un toit de…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches