Home / Accueil

Main Building

Banff National Park of Canada, Alberta, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1997/07/03

General view of the Main Building, showing the patina of weathered wood, 1994.; Architectural and Engineering Services (A&ES), Heritage Recording and Techincal Data Services (HRS), 1994 / Services d'architecture et de génie, Section des services de relevés des richesses du patrimoine, 1994.
General view
General view of the Main Building projecting the rear wing of main building, viewed from east, 1994.; Architectural and Engineering Services (A&ES), Heritage Recording and Techincal Data Services (HRS), 1994 / Services d'architecture et de génie, Section des services de relevés des richesses du patrimoine, 1994.
General view
General view of the rear of the Main Building, depicting the massive stone chimney, 1994.; Architectural and Engineering Services (A&ES), Heritage Recording and Techincal Data Services (HRS), 1994 / Services d'architecture et de génie, Section des services de relevés des richesses du patrimoine, 1994.
Rear view

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1930/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/03/03

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Main Building at Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site of Canada, in Banff National Park of Canada is comprised of a rustic style, two-storey, gable-roofed structure with a one-storey, back kitchen addition also with a gable roof and a massive field stone chimney. There is a small shed roofed addition that was added along the length of the kitchen wing in 1935-1936. It was the original lodge structure built by Earl Spencer and a three-man crew for the Ski Club of the Canadian Rockies, pioneers of skiing as a major recreational activity in Canada. Twelve miles north of Lake Louise, the site was chosen following consultation with the Canadian Pacific Railway's (CPR) Swiss guides based on its suitability for skiing and on the availability of suitable building logs and water. Because of its size and central location, the main building, surrounded by five smaller guest cabins, is the most prominent building on the site and continues to accommodate visitors and ski-tourists year round. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The main building is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value
The main building is a very good illustration of the national theme of recreation and tourism and its development in Canada’s National Parks. The first such facility to operate on a commercial basis in Canada, the Skoki Ski Lodge represents the pioneering phase of skiing as a major recreational activity in Canada as well as the growth of recreation within Canada’s remote wilderness area, known as the back-country region.

Architectural Value
The main building’s exterior design and interior layout demonstrate very good examples of the rustic design tradition in Canadian National Parks and winter resort construction. It serves as an example of an original traditional log design and construction using local materials and workmanship long associated with the Banff region. Being the first building on site its design set the precedent for subsequent structures to the site.

Environmental Value
The main building’s picturesque mountain setting, its simple rustic design and role as nucleus of the complex reinforce its historical relationship to the site. It was the first building on the site and its historical relationship to its surrounding alpine landscape has evolved from a single structure in 1930, to a small rustic complex by 1936. Because of its size and central location, the main building is the most dominant feature on site. It maintains its original physical and functional relationship to the other buildings, the site and its natural surroundings. Access to the site is restricted to traditional methods of transportation thus maintaining its original remote wilderness quality.

Sources: Kate Macfarlane, Skoki Ski Lodge, Banff National Park, Alberta. Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Building Report 96-105.; The Main Building, Skoki Ski Lodge, Banff National Park, Alberta. Heritage Character Statement 96-105.

Character-Defining Elements

The following character defining elements of the main building should be respected.
Its rustic aesthetic and traditional log design construction as manifested in:
- its simple massing consisting of a two-storey, gable-roofed structure with a one storey addition, also gable-roofed;
- wood as the predominant construction material with locally hewn spruce logs as the bulk of construction material;
- the walls of unscribed horizontal log construction with saddle-notched corners;
- the dormer windows and off center elevation articulating the front entrance;
- the back elevation distinguished by a single roof dormer, a massive field stone chimney and a projecting kitchen wing;
- the shed-roofed addition along the length of the kitchen wing;
- the projecting gabled porch roofs at both the front and side entrances;
- the patina of weathered wood;
- multi-paned windows, the plank door and the tongue-and-groove floorboards
constructed of milled lumber components;
- its simple interior layout and rustic exterior;

The manner in which the main building reinforces the picturesque character of the mountain park setting.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1997/07/03

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Commerce / Commercial Services
Office or Office Building

Architect / Designer

n/a

Builder

Earl Spencer

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

8051

Status

Published

Related Places

General view

Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site of Canada

The Skoki Ski Lodge is a backcountry ski lodge facility built during the 1930s. It is located on the banks of Little Pipestone Creek, in the Skoki Valley north of Lake Louise, in…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Bâtiment principal

Banff National Park of Canada, Alberta, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1997/07/03

Vue de la façade générale du bâtiment principal, qui montre la patine du bois altéré par les intempéries, 1994.; Architectural and Engineering Services (A&ES), Heritage Recording and Techincal Data Services (HRS), 1994 / Services d'architecture et de génie, Section des services de relevés des richesses du patrimoine, 1994.
Vue de la façade générale
Vue de la façade générale du bâtiment principal projectant l'aile arrière de l'édifice, vue de l'est, 1994; Architectural and Engineering Services (A&ES), Heritage Recording and Techincal Data Services (HRS), 1994 / Services d'architecture et de génie, Section des services de relevés des richesses du patrimoine, 1994.
Vue générale
Vue générale de l'arrière du bâtiment principal démontrant la cheminée massive, 1994.; Architectural and Engineering Services (A&ES), Heritage Recording and Techincal Data Services (HRS), 1994 / Services d'architecture et de génie, Section des services de relevés des richesses du patrimoine, 1994.
Vue de l'arrière

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1930/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/03/03

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le bâtiment principal du lieu historique national du Canada l'auberge de ski Skoki, dans le parc national du Canada Banff, est composé d'un corps de logis à pignon de deux étages conçu dans le style rustique et, sur l'arrière, d'une rallonge de plain-pied, elle aussi coiffée d'un toit à pignon, qui abrite une cuisine. Le corps de logis présente sur sa façade arrière une cheminée massive en pierre des champs. Une petite rallonge en appentis, s'étendant sur toute la longueur de la cuisine, a été rajoutée en 1935-1936. Le bâtiment principal a été le premier bâtiment de l'auberge, et il a été construit par Earl Spencer et une équipe de trois hommes pour le Ski Club of the Canadian Rockies, auquel on doit en grande partie d'avoir fait du ski une importante activité de loisir au Canada. Après avoir consulté les guides suisses du Chemin de Fer Canadien Pacifique (CFCP), les fondateurs du club ont choisi d'installer leur chalet à une douzaine de milles au nord du lac Louise parce que l'emplacement était propice au ski et qu'on y avait facilement accès à l'eau et à des billes de construction de qualité. En raison de sa taille et de sa situation centrale, ce chalet, bâtiment principal de l'auberge entouré de cinq petites cabanes de tourisme, est l'élément dominant du site et il continue d'accueillir les visiteurs et les touristes-skieurs à longueur d'année. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le bâtiment principal a été désigné édifice classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il représente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le bâtiment principal illustre très bien le thème historique national des loisirs et du tourisme et l'évolution de ce type d'activités dans les parcs nationaux du Canada. Premier établissement du genre à avoir été exploité commercialement au Canada, l'auberge de ski Skoki représente les débuts du ski comme importante activité de loisir au Canada et l'essor des loisirs dans les régions sauvages canadiennes, qu'on appelle l'arrière-pays.

Valeur architecturale
L'aspect extérieur et l'agencement intérieur du bâtiment principal sont de très bons exemples de l'architecture rustique traditionnellement employée dans les parcs nationaux et les stations d'hiver du Canada. Elle offre un échantillon des méthodes traditionnelles originales de conception et de construction de bâtiments en bois rond fondées sur l'emploi de compétences et de matériaux locaux qui sont depuis longtemps associées à la région de Banff.

Valeur environnementale
Le pittoresque décor de montagne dans lequel se situe le bâtiment principal, l'architecture rustique toute simple du bâtiment et le fait qu'il soit le noyau de l'auberge sont tous des éléments qui renforcent sa relation historique avec le site. Il a été le premier bâtiment construit sur les lieux, et sa relation historique avec le paysage alpin a évolué avec le temps, alors que d'autres constructions sont venues s'ajouter au chalet de 1930 pour finalement composer, en 1936, un petit ensemble rustique. En raison de sa taille et de sa situation centrale, le bâtiment principal est l'élément dominant du site. Il conserve son articulation physique et fonctionnelle avec les autres bâtiments, l'emplacement et la nature environnante. Comme, aujourd'hui encore, on n'accède au site que par des modes de transport traditionnels, l'endroit a conservé le caractère de sauvage isolement qu'il avait à l'origine.

Sources : Kate Macfarlane, Skoki Ski Lodge, Banff National Park, Alberta. Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche 96-105 ; Bâtiment principal, auberge de ski Skoki, parc national Banff, Alberta. Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 96-105

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments caractéristiques suivants du bâtiment principal devraient être respectés.
Son esthétique rustique et son mode de construction traditionnel en bois rond, comme en témoignent :

-la simplicité de ses volumes, qui consistent en un bâtiment à pignon à deux étages et en une rallonge de plain-pied également surmontée d'un toit à pignon;
-l'utilisation presque exclusive de bois comme matériau, en majeure partie des billes d'épinette coupées sur place;
-les murs faits de rondins posés les uns sur les autres sans emboîtement, avec coins assemblés en sabot;
-les lucarnes et l'entrée décentrée qui articulent la façade avant;
-la façade arrière, que caractérisent une lucarne unique, une cheminée massive en pierre des champs et une rallonge en saillie abritant la cuisine;
-la rallonge en appentis s'étendant sur toute la longueur de la cuisine;
-les porches en saillie avec toit à pignon qui précèdent les entrées de devant et de côté;
-la patine du bois altéré par les intempéries;
-les fenêtres à carreaux multiples, la porte en planches et les lames de plancher à rainure et languette, toutes faites de bois ouvré;
-la simplicité de l'agencement intérieur et de l'enveloppe rustique du bâtiment.

La manière dont le bâtiment principal renforce le caractère pittoresque du décor offert par le parc de montagne.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1997/07/03

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Commerce / Services commerciaux
Bureau ou édifice à bureaux

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

Earl Spencer

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

8051

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

General view

Lieu historique national du Canada de l'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki

L'Auberge de ski Skoki est une auberge de ski construite dans l'arrière-pays dans les années 1930. Elle est située sur la rive de la crique Little Pipestone, dans la vallée Skoki,…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches