Home / Accueil

Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster's House

Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada / Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1990/08/16

View of the main entrance of the Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster's House, showing the symmetrical elevations with regular placement of the windows and doors, 1989.; Department of Public Works / Ministère des Travaux publics, 1989.
Façade
Side view of the Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster's House, showing the thick ground floor wall constructed of evenly coursed limestone masonry with infilled loopholes, and the frame second floor clad in clapboard, 1989.; Department of Public Works / Ministère des Travaux publics, 1989.
Exterior view
View of the Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster's House from a distance, showing its overall scale, design and materials, which harmonize with the lockstation surroundings, 1989.; Department of Public Works / Ministère des Travaux, 1989.
General view

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1842/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2009/01/29

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster’s House overlooks the Rideau Canal and stands close to the lock at Lower Brewers Lockstation. It is a two-storey, cube-shaped building with a pyramidal roof and symmetrical façade. The ground floor walls are of limestone while the second-storey addition is clad in clapboard. The windows of the upper floor balance those of the lower and complete the symmetry. An enclosed porch protects the main entrance. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster’s House is a Recognized Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value:
The Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster’s House is a good example of a building associated with the construction and operation of the Rideau Canal, and illustrates the theme of military defence for Upper and Lower Canada in the 19th century, and the evolution and transformation of the waterway as a federal public work. The establishment of a station at Lower Brewers stimulated the development of a milling community centred on a grist-mill, woollen mill and store.

Architectural Value:
The Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster’s House is valued for its good aesthetic design built as a defensible residence for the lockmaster. Later additions, such as the second storey and small wooden structure with porch to the rear, give the structure a more residential appearance. This resulted from a change in the function of the canal by the twentieth century from defence to recreation and commerce. The building exhibits very good functional design, which is evidenced in its dual function as a military structure and residence. Its materials and craftsmanship exemplify the high design standards of the Royal Engineers.

Environmental Value:
The Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster’s House reinforces the historic character of its park-like setting at Lower Brewers Lockstation and is a familiar landmark to local residents and to visitors.

Sources: James De Jonge, Fifteen buildings, Southern Area, Rideau Canal, Ontario, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office, Building Reports 89-155, 89-156, 89-157, 89-158,89-159, and 89-160; Defensible Lockmaster’s House, Lower Brewers Lockstation, Rideau Canal, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement 89-155.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster’s House should be respected.

Its good aesthetic, very good functional design and very good quality materials and craftsmanship, for example:
- the two-storey massing with pyramidal roof, and chimney;
- the exterior walls, the thick ground floor wall constructed of evenly coursed limestone masonry with infilled loopholes, and the frame second floor clad in clapboard;
- the symmetrical elevations with regular placement of the windows and doors;
- the enclosed defensible porch and the wooden addition at the rear;
- the interior configuration.

The manner in which the Lower Brewers Defensible Lockmaster’s House reinforces the historic character of its park-like setting at Lower Brewers Lockstation and is a familiar local landmark, as evidenced by:
- its overall scale, design and materials, which harmonize with the lockstation surroundings;
- its visibility due to its prominent location adjacent to the canal, which makes it a local landmark.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Recognized Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1990/08/16

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

1898/01/01 to 1899/01/01

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Transport-Water
Canal or Canal Works

Architect / Designer

British Ordnance Department

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

3886

Status

Published

Related Places

Photo of a lock

Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada is a 200 km man-made waterway running through a corridor of communities from Ottawa River to Lake Ontario. It was built in the mid…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier de Lower Brewers

Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada / Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1990/08/16

Vue de l'entrée principale de la résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier de Lower Brewers, qui montre les façades symétriques caractérisées par la disposition régulière des fenêtres et des portes, 1989.; Department of Public Works / Ministère des Travaux publics, 1989.
Façade
Vue de côté de la résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier, qui montre les murs du rez-de-chaussée en maçonnerie de pierres calcaires posées en assises régulières avec des meurtrières murées et ceux de l’étage revêtus d’un parement de planches à clins, 1989; Department of Public Works / Ministère des Travaux publics, 1989.
Vue de l'extérieur
Vue d'ensemble de la résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier de Lower Brewers, qui montre son échelle générale, son style et les matériaux employés, qui s’harmonisent avec les abords du poste d’éclusage, 1989.; Department of Public Works / Ministère des Travaux, 1989.
Vue générale

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1842/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2009/01/29

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

La résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier de Lower Brewers surplombe le canal Rideau et est située près de l’écluse au poste d’éclusage de Lower Brewers. Il s’agit d’un bâtiment carré de deux étages, coiffé d’un toit pyramidal et dont la façade est symétrique. Les murs du rez-de-chaussée sont revêtus de pierre calcaire tandis que l’ajout à l’étage est revêtu d’un parement de planches à clins. Les fenêtres de l’étage équilibrent celles du premier niveau et complètent la symétrie de l’ensemble. L’entrée principale est protégée par un porche fermé. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

La résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier de Lower Brewers est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’elle présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’elle occupe dans son milieu.

Valeur historique
La résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier de Lower Brewers est un bel exemple d’un bâtiment associé à la construction et au fonctionnement du canal Rideau. Elle évoque le thème de la stratégie de défense militaire du Haut et du Bas-Canada au XIXe siècle et l’évolution et la transformation de la voie navigable à titre d’ouvrage public fédéral. L’installation du poste à Lower Brewers a stimulé le développement d’une collectivité centrée autour d’un moulin à grain, d’une filature de laine et d’un magasin.

Valeur architecturale
La valeur de cette résidence, construite comme résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier, découle de ses belles qualités esthétiques. Les ajouts ultérieurs, comme l’étage et une petite rallonge en bois complétée d’un porche à l’arrière, prêtent à l’ensemble une apparence plus résidentielle. Ces ajouts sont attribuables à l’évolution de la fonction du canal qui, dès le XXe siècle, délaissait sa vocation militaire en faveur d’usages axés sur les loisirs et le commerce. La très bonne conception fonctionnelle se voit dans la double fonction d’ouvrage militaire et de résidence. Les matériaux employés et la qualité de l’exécution reflètent les normes rigoureuses adoptées par les Royal Engineers.

Valeur environnementale
La résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier de Lower Brewers renforce le caractère historique du cadre semblable à un parc où elle est située au poste d’éclusage de Lower Brewers et est un repère connu des résidants du coin et des visiteurs.

Sources : James De Jonge, 15 bâtiments, secteur Sud, canal Rideau (Ontario), Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine rapport de recherche, rapports 89-155, 89-156, 89-157, 89-158,89-159 et 89-160; Maison fortifiée du maître-éclusier, poste d’éclusage de Lower Brewers, canal Rideau (Ontario), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 89-155.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère de la résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier de Lower Brewers devraient être respectés.

Ses belles qualités esthétiques, sa très bonne conception fonctionnelle et les matériaux et l’exécution de très haute qualité, c’est-à-dire :
- la volumétrie sur deux étages avec le toit pyramidal et la cheminée;
- les murs extérieurs, ceux du rez-de-chaussée en maçonnerie de pierres calcaires posées en assises régulières avec des meurtrières murées et ceux de l’étage revêtus d’un parement de planches à clins;
- les façades symétriques caractérisées par la disposition régulière des fenêtres et des portes;
- le porche fortifié fermé et la rallonge en bois à l’arrière;
- le plan intérieur.

La façon dont la résidence fortifiée du maître-éclusier de Lower Brewers renforce le caractère historique du cadre semblable à un parc où elle est située au poste d’éclusage de Lower Brewers et est un repère connu dans le secteur, c’est-à-dire :
- son échelle générale, son style et les matériaux employés, qui s’harmonisent avec les abords du poste d’éclusage;
- sa visibilité, due à son emplacement bien en vue à côté du canal, ce qui en fait un repère dans la région.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine reconnu

Date de reconnaissance

1990/08/16

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

1898/01/01 à 1899/01/01

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Transport maritime
Canal de navigation ou ouvrages de canal

Architecte / Concepteur

British Ordnance Department

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

3886

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Photo of a lock

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Bâti au milieu du XIXe siècle, le lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau est une voie navigable artificielle de 200 km aménagée de la rivière des Outaouais au lac…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches