Home / Accueil

The Forks National Historic Site of Canada

45 Forks Market Road, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3C, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1974/05/18

General view of The Forks, showing the legibility and integrity of The Forks as a landmark in the City of Winnipeg and the Province of Manitoba, 2008.; The Forks, ryanobjc, August 2008
General view
General view of The Forks, showing viewscapes east and west along course of the Assiniboine River, 2008.; Winnipeg Skyline from Bridge, Adam DeClercq, 2008.
General view
Aerial view of The Forks National Historic Site of Canada, 1993.; Agence Parcs Canada / Parks Canada Agency, 1993.
Aerial view

Other Name(s)

The Forks
La Fourche
The Forks National Historic Site of Canada
Forks of the Red and Assiniboine
Fourche de la rouge et de l'assiniboine

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2008/02/22

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Forks National Historic Site of Canada is an area of publicly accessible land in the heart of the City of Winnipeg, Manitoba, comprised of areas known as the South Point and North Point situated on opposite sides of the Assiniboine River on the west bank of the Red River. Historically, it was a critical river junction that has been a transportation point for many generations. Today, The Forks is a mixed-use gathering place integrating green space, recreation areas, commercial operations and parking which has been the result of the redevelopment of former Canadian National rail yards.

Heritage Value

The Forks was designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 1974 because, strategically located at the juncture of the Red and Assiniboine rivers, this spot has witnessed many of the key events of western Canadian history. The heritage value of The Forks lies in the millennia of human activity to which its cultural landscape bears witness. Its heritage value is embodied in its geographical location, the evidence of past activity and the commemoration of past activity it contains, and its strategic impact upon the surrounding development.

People have used The Forks as a meeting place, fishing camp, trading place and settlement for at least six thousand years. Both the Red and the Assinboine rivers have historically been major transportation corridors in western Canada. Over time, the rivers have meandered and their courses have shifted. The site commemorated as “The Forks” has accommodated significant use during two historical periods – 7600 until 3000 years ago (5600 BC-1000 BC), and 1500 years ago to the present (500 AD -2000 AD). As the traditional transition area between the prairies and the woodlands, it has been a meeting and trading point for a wide range of First Nations cultural groups including Algonquin peoples from central and southern Manitoba, northwestern Ontario and Minnesota, and possibly parts of North Dakota.

During the 18th century it provided an intermittent seasonal camp for Assiniboine, Ojibwa (Saulteaux), Cree and Dakota (Sioux) peoples. The first European settlement in western Canada (La Vérendrye’s Fort Rouge,1736-1740s) was also located nearby. In the 19th and 20th centuries it was a staging point for western expansion and settlement: the site of fur trade Fort Gibraltar I (1810-1816) and Fort Gibraltar II (1817-1821), Fort Garry I (1817-1852), a Hudson’s Bay reserve (1836- 1907) and the yards of a major railway (1888-1988). Selective archaeological investigations conducted at The Forks in 1984, 1987 and 1988 recovered 190,800 artifacts (both moveable and in-situ) including those representing pre-contact, fur trade and railway eras.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, 1974, 1986.

Character-Defining Elements

Elements key to the heritage value of this site include:
- the location of the site at the junction of the Red and Assiniboine rivers;
- the unimpeded presence of the courses of both rivers;
- the relative lack of disturbance of archaeological evidence contained in the stratified layers of soil on site;
- the continued legibility and well-being of excavations and artifacts uncovered at 8 pre-contact and 5 post-contact sites (including evidence that remains in situ such as the log structure at Fort Gibraltar I, buildings from the Hudson Bay Company Experimental Farm, the railway turntable roundhouse foundation);
- the integrity and continued association of archaeological evidence removed during the above investigations and the knowledge they contain;
- the integrity of commemorations on the site including those to Forts Rouge, Gibraltar and Garry, and that to the creation of the Province of Manitoba;
- the integrity of a natural riparian habitat (a band of forest with bur oak, Manitoba maple, cottonwood, some aspen and dogwood) on the banks of the river;
- both on-site evidence of and viewscapes to geological evidence of the location of earlier banks and/or shifts in the bed of the river;
- viewscapes east and west along course of the Assiniboine River, north and south along course of the Red River, to St. Boniface Cathedral and the Grey Nuns’ Convent National Historic Site of Canada, to the Union (VIA) Station National Historic Site of Canada, and towards the Exchange District National Historic Site of Canada;
- the legibility and integrity of the site as a landmark in the City of Winnipeg and the Province of Manitoba.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Historic Sites and Monuments Act

Recognition Type

National Historic Site of Canada

Recognition Date

1974/05/18

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Peopling the Land
Canada's Earliest Inhabitants
Peopling the Land
Migration and Immigration
Peopling the Land
Settlement
Developing Economies
Technology and Engineering
Developing Economies
Communications and Transportation

Function - Category and Type

Current

Community
Settlement

Historic

Architect / Designer

n/a

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

151

Status

Published

Related Places

n/a

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche

45, chemin Forks Market, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3C, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1974/05/18

Vue générale du lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche; Parks Canada Agency | Agence Parcs Canada
Vue générale
Vue générale du lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche.; Parks Canada Agency | Agence Parcs Canada
Vue générale
Vue générale du lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche.; Parks Canada Agency | Agence Parcs Canada
Vue générale

Autre nom(s)

Lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche
The Forks
La Fourche
Forks of the Red and Assiniboine
Fourche de la rouge et de l'assiniboine

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2008/02/22

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche est une zone accessible au public au cœur de la ville de Winnipeg, au Manitoba. La Fourche se compose de secteurs connus sous les noms de Pointe sud et Pointe nord, situés sur les rives opposées de la rivière Assiniboine, sur la rive ouest de la rivière Rouge. Sur le plan historique, ce confluent a été un lieu de transport important pour de nombreuses générations. Aujourd'hui, La Fourche est un lieu de rassemblement à diverses vocations, qui comprend des espaces verts, des zones de loisirs, des opérations commerciales et un stationnement, suite au réaménagement des anciennes gares de triage du Canadien National.

Valeur patrimoniale

La Fourche a été désignée lieu historique national du Canada en 1974 parce qu'elle est située stratégiquement au confluent des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine, si bien qu'elle a été témoin de nombreux événements clés de l'histoire de l'Ouest canadien. La valeur patrimoniale de La Fourche est liée au millénaire d'activité humaine dont son paysage culturel a été le témoin. Elle a également trait à sa situation géographique, aux signes de l'activité passée et de sa commémoration, ainsi qu'à son impact stratégique sur l'environnement avoisinant.

Des peuples se sont servis de La Fourche comme lieu de rassemblement, camp de pêche, lieu de commerce et colonie, pendant au moins six mille ans. Sur le plan historique, les rivières Rouge et Assiniboine ont été toutes les deux d'importants couloirs de transport dans l'Ouest canadien. Au fil du temps, les rivières ont formé des méandres et leurs cours ont changé. Le site commémoré sous le nom de «La Fourche» a eu de nombreuses fonctions pendant deux périodes historiques : il y a 7600 à 3000 ans (soit de 5600 à 1000 avant J.C.), et d'il y a 1500 ans à aujourd'hui (soit de 500 à 2000 après J.C.). À titre de zone traditionnelle de transition entre les prairies et les terrains boisés, elle servait de lieu de rassemblement et de commerce à un large éventail de groupes culturels des Premières nations, et notamment aux peuples Algonquiens du centre et du sud du Manitoba, du nord-ouest de l'Ontario et du Minnesota, et peut-être de parties du Dakota du Nord.

Au XVIIIe siècle, elle servait de camp saisonnier provisoire aux peuples Assiniboine, Ojibwa (Saulteaux), Cri et Dakota (Sioux). En outre, le premier établissement européen dans l'Ouest du Canada (le Fort Rouge de La Vérendrye, de 1736 aux années 1740) était également situé à proximité. Aux XIXe et XXe siècles, La Fourche servait de point de relais pour la colonisation et l'expansion vers l'Ouest. Elle était le site du Fort Gibraltar I (1810-1816) et du Fort Gibraltar II (1817-1821) pour la traite des fourrures, du Fort Garry I (1817-1852), d'une réserve de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson (1836-1907) et de gares de triage d'un important chemin de fer (1888-1988). Des fouilles archéologiques spécifiques effectuées à La Fourche en 1984, 1987 et 1988 ont permis de récupérer 190 800 objets (mobiles et in situ) représentant notamment les périodes préeuropéennes, du commerce de la fourrure et du chemin de fer.

Sources : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbaux, 1974, 1986.

Éléments caractéristiques

Parmi les caractéristiques qui confèrent à ce site sa valeur patrimoniale, notons:
- la situation du site au confluent des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine;
- la présence sans obstacle du cours des deux rivières;
- le fait que les vestiges archéologiques contenus dans les couches stratifiées du site soient relativement peu perturbés;
- le potentiel d’interprétation maintenu et le bon état des fouilles et des objets découverts dans huit sites datant d'avant l’arrivée des Européens et dans cinq sites d'après l’arrivée des Européens (y compris des vestiges in situ, comme le bâtiment en bois rond du Fort Gibraltar I, les bâtiments de la ferme expérimentale de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, la fondation du pont tournant sous la rotonde du chemin de fer);
- l'intégrité et l’association des preuves archéologiques divulguées au cours des fouilles susmentionnées et les connaissances dont elles font état;
- l'intégrité des commémorations sur le site, y compris celles des forts Rouge, Gibraltar et Garry (désignés lieu historique national du Canada) et celle de la création de la province du Manitoba;
- l'intégrité de l'habitat naturel rivulaire (une section de forêt où on trouve des chênes à gros glands, des érables du Manitoba, des peupliers du Canada, quelques trembles et des cornouillers) sur les rives de la rivière;
- l’évidence géologique de la localisation de la rive et/ou d’un changement du lit de la rivière;
- les perspectives de vue vers l'est et l'ouest le long de la rivière Assiniboine, vers le nord et le sud le long de la rivière Rouge, et vers la cathédrale de St. Boniface, le lieu historique national du Canada de la Gare-Union / Gare-du-Canadien-National-à-Winnipeg, le lieu historique national du Canada du Couvent-des-Sœurs-Grises et le lieu historique national du Canada du Quartier-de-la-Bourse;
- la lisibilité et l'intégrité du site à titre de point d'intérêt de la ville de Winnipeg et de la province du Manitoba.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Loi sur les lieux historiques nationaux

Type de reconnaissance

Lieu historique national du Canada

Date de reconnaissance

1974/05/18

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Un territoire à peupler
Les premiers habitants du Canada
Un territoire à peupler
Immigration et migration
Un territoire à peupler
Les établissements
Économies en développement
Technologie et ingénierie
Économies en développement
Communications et transport

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Communauté
Établissement

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale de la conservation et de la commémoration du patrimoine, Centre de documentation, 3e étage, salle 366, 30 rue Victoria, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

151

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches