Home / Accueil

Federal Building

Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1990/09/27

Federal Building J D Higenbotham; (National Archives of Canada, PA 53200.)
Exterior photo
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

Federal Building
Federal Building J D Higenbotham
Édifice fédéral J D Higenbotham

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1912/01/01 to 1913/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/06/16

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Federal Building at Lethbridge is a four-storied monumental building of classic simplicity with a rectangular footprint. The building has a modest Beaux Arts styling. There is a modern 1958 addition on the east side. The main entrance is located in the addition. The two principle facades of the original building, on 4th Avenue and 7th Street are anchored at the northwest corner by the corner clock tower. The seven-bay façade facing 4th Avenue and the five bay façade facing 7th Street are stylistically identical, with projecting pavilions flanking the pilastered central bays. The end pavilions are topped by attic level scroll pediments. The principle facades, have rustication on the lower storey, the intermediate storeys are of smooth ashlar, and both facades are of note for their decorative stonework. The Federal Building is situated on a major thoroughfare of Lethbridge’s commercial sector. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Federal Building in Lethbridge is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values:

Historical value:
The Federal Building in Lethbridge is a very good example of the national theme of the establishment of a federal presence in communities across Canada at the turn of the last century. This was particularly the case within the newly created provinces of Sakatchewan and Alberta. It is associated with the monumental phase of federal building and is one of only three surviving Beaux Arts buildings of its type under Federal ownership.

Architectural value:
This building is a very good and attractive example of federal design at the local scale. It draws on Beaux-Arts principles to establish a strong, yet dignified, urban presence. The Department of Public Works supervised the construction of a number of signature style post offices, using a melange of English Renaissance detailing in their Beaux Arts interpretation. This classical style was considered an appropriate medium of expression for local, state or federal building commissions. The design of these Beaux-Arts inspired post offices was based on a system; no two buildings looked alike but all carried the same elements of the style. The uniqueness of this building is its scale which is normally designed for larger centres, it is distinguished by its classic simplicity. The Federal building is one of only three surviving Beaux-Arts monuments of its type in federal ownership. The custodial department is Public Works Canada.

Environmental value:
The dramatic and boldly sited building with its prominent clock tower provided a highly visible boost to the urban development and visual core of downtown Lethbridge. It is prominent visually and is a popular local landmark. The building is associated with its mail and processing plant. It is a modest yet representative example of its type which is in keeping with its location in a smaller town. The building has modest Beaux Arts styling distinguished by classic simplicity rather than lavish ornateness.

Sources:
Martha Phemister, The Federal Building, 7th Street at 4th Avenue, Lethbridge, Alberta. 89-112;Federal Building, 7th Street at 4th Avenue, Lethbridge Alberta. Heritage Character Statement 89-112.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Federal Building in Lethbridge should be respected.

Its construction style and good quality materials and craftsmanship as manifested in:
- the monumental public scale and profile
- the classical quality of the exterior hammer dressed stonework cladding of
the upper floors;
- the exterior rustication of the lower floors;
- the ornate sculpting around the roof and clock tower;
- the copper sheathing of the roof and clock tower;
- the five metre ceiling in the post office lobby;
- the decorative plaster ceiling and terrazzo floors;
- the black marble counter tops and marble interior wainscoting.


The manner in which the building reinforces the urban streetscape of Lethbridge through its construction, scale, and its location, and its physical and functional relationship to the other buildings in town.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1990/09/27

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Historic

Architect / Designer

David Ewart (1897-1914)

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

3815

Status

Published

Related Places

n/a

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Édifice fédéral

Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1990/09/27

Édifice fédéral J D Higenbotham; (National Archives of Canada, PA 53200.)
Photo extérieur
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Édifice fédéral
Federal Building J D Higenbotham
Édifice fédéral J D Higenbotham

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1912/01/01 à 1913/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/06/16

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

L’édifice fédéral de Lethbridge est un monumental édifice de quatre étages, d’une simplicité classique, et dont l’empreinte est rectangulaire. Son style modeste est inspiré des principes du mouvement Beaux-Arts. L’édifice comporte un ajout moderne datant de 1958 qui abrite l’entrée principale. Les deux façades principales du bâtiment original, qui bordent respectivement 4th Avenue et 7th Street, sont réunies au coin nord-ouest par une tour d’angle qui renferme l’horloge. La façade à sept baies, sur 4th Avenue, et la façade à cinq baies, sur 7th Street, sont stylistiquement identiques, les baies centrales ornées de pilastres étant flanquées de chaque côté par des volumes en saillie. Les volumes situés aux extrémités sont surmontés de frontons semi-circulaires au niveau des combles. Les façades principales se distinguent par un bossage au rez-de-chaussée, de la pierre de taille lisse aux étages intermédiaires et une ornementation sculptée dans la pierre. L’édifice fédéral se trouve sur une artère principale du quartier commercial de Lethbridge. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

L’édifice fédéral de Lethbridge a été désigné édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
L’édifice fédéral illustre très bien l’importance qu’attachait le gouvernement fédéral, au tournant du siècle dernier, au fait de marquer sa présence dans des localités situées aux quatre coins du pays, et plus particulièrement dans les nouvelles provinces de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan. L’édifice s’inscrit dans la phase dite monumentale de construction des édifices fédéraux et il compte parmi les trois derniers monuments de style Beaux-Arts de cette catégorie qui subsistent à ce jour parmi les immeubles de propriété fédérale.

Valeur architecturale
Cet édifice est un bel exemple de la conception des édifices fédéraux à l’échelon local. L’architecte s’est inspiré des principes du mouvement Beaux Arts pour établir une présence urbaine forte et néanmoins majestueuse. Le ministère des Travaux publics a supervisé la construction de plusieurs installations postales de ce style caractéristique, qui combine le souci du détail du mouvement de Renaissance anglais et l’interprétation du mouvement Beaux-Arts. Ce style classique était considéré comme un moyen d’expression approprié pour l’exécution d’édifices locaux, provinciaux ou fédéraux. La conception de ces installations postales inspirées du mouvement Beaux-Arts était fondée sur un système : pas un édifice ne ressemblait à un autre, mais tous reprenaient les mêmes éléments du style. L’édifice fédéral de Lethbridge se distingue par son échelle, normalement réservée aux centres plus grands, et par sa simplicité classique. Il compte parmi seulement trois monuments de style Beaux-Arts de cette catégorie qui subsistent à ce jour parmi les immeubles de propriété fédérale. Travaux publics Canada en a le soin et la garde.

Valeur environnementale
La construction de cet édifice dramatique, avec sa remarquable tour d’horloge, à un emplacement très en vue, a stimulé de façon très visible le développement urbain de Lethbridge, et notamment le centre-ville. L’édifice se distingue nettement dans le paysage urbain et est un point d’intérêt local couru. On lui associe encore sa fonction de bureau de poste et de centre de traitement du courrier. Il constitue un exemple modeste, et pourtant représentatif, de son type qui est caractéristique d’une installation sise dans une plus petite ville. L’édifice présente un style d’inspiration Beaux-Arts modéré et se distingue par sa simplicité classique plutôt que par une ornementation lourde.

Sources :
Martha Phemister, Édifice fédéral, 7th Street au coin de 4th Avenue, Lethbridge (Alberta). Rapport de recherche 89-112; Édifice fédéral, 7th Street au coin de 4th Avenue, Lethbridge (Alberta). Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 89-112.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments qui définissent le caractère de l’édifice fédéral de Lethbridge, devraient être respectés.

Son style de construction et la qualité des matériaux employés et de l’exécution, c’est-à-dire :
-l’échelle et le profil d’un édifice public monumental;
-la qualité classique du parement en pierre de taille des étages supérieurs;
-le parement extérieur en pierre bossagée des étages inférieurs;
-les frontons décorés qui font le tour du toit et de la tour d’horloge;
-la couverture en cuivre du toit et de la tour d’horloge;
-les plafonds de cinq mètres dans l’entrée du bureau de poste;
-le plafond en plâtre décoratif et les planchers en terrazzo;
-les comptoirs en marbre noir et les lambris intérieurs en marbre.

La façon dont l’édifice fédéral ajoute une grande part dans le cachet du paysage urbain de Lethbridge de par sa construction, son échelle, son emplacement et son lien physique et de fonction avec les autres édifices de la ville.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1990/09/27

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

David Ewart (1897-1914)

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

3815

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches