Home / Accueil

Bunkhouse

Banff National Park of Canada, Alberta, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1997/07/03

General view of the Bunkhouse, showing its simple massing as a single-room with a gable roof, extended on log purlins over the entrance to shelter the stoop, 1994.; Agence Parcs Canada / Parks Canada Agency, 1994.
Corner view
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1936/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2004/12/14

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Bunkhouse in the Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site of Canada in Banff National Park of Canada is a rustic style, simple one-room log structure with a gable roof extending over the entrance on log purlins to shelter the wooden stoop. It is located in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, adjacent to a glacier fed mountain stream and surrounded by a forest filled with spruce and white bark pine at an elevation of 2,164 metres in a clearing on the banks of Little Pipestone Creek. Along with three other guest cabins, it was built in 1936 by Earl Spencer for noted Banff guide, outfitter and log builder James Boyd, to accommodate the growing number of ski-tourists to the park and completes the site. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Bunkhouse is a Classified Federal Heritage building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical Value
The Bunkhouse is a very good illustration of the national theme of recreation and tourism and its development in Canada’s National Parks. The first such facility to operate on a commercial basis in Canada, the bunkhouse, as part of the facility, was built specifically to cater to the growing number of ski-tourists in Banff National Park of Canada and represents the pioneering phase of skiing as a major recreational activity in North America. The lodge remains a major destination point within the park and the bunkhouse continues to accommodate park visitors from all over the world.

Architectural Value
The Bunkhouse is a very good example of the rustic design tradition in Canadian national parks and winter resort construction. It serves as a unique example of an original traditional log design and construction using local materials and workmanship long associated with the Banff region.

Environmental Value
The picturesque mountain setting around the Bunkhouse, the layout of the buildings and their relationship to each other, historic trails, footpaths and unspoiled setting reinforce its historical relationship to the site. The Bunkhouse remains on its original site to the west of the main building. It is along with four other guest cabins arranged in a semi-circle around the centrally placed main building and maintains its original physical and functional relationship to the other buildings, the site and its natural surroundings. The Bunkhouse and other cabins act as a visual landmark for tourists in the park and is a well known skiing and hiking destination for travellers. Access to the site has not changed, being restricted to traditional methods of transportation thus maintaining its original remote wilderness quality.

Sources: Kate Macfarlane, Skoki Ski Lodge, Banff National Park, Alberta. Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Building Report 96-105; Bunkhouse, Skoki Ski Lodge, Banff National Park, Alberta, Heritage Character Statement 96-105.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of the Bunkhouse should be respected.

Its rustic design tradition and traditional log design and construction as manifested in:
- its simple massing as a single-room with a gable roof, extended on log purlins over the entrance to shelter the stoop;
- its use of wood as the predominant construction material, mainly locally-hewn spruce logs;
- the walls of unscribed horizontal log construction with saddle-notched corners;
- door is centred on the front gable end;
- a single multi-paned window centred on each of the remaining three elevations;
- the patina of weathered wood;
- multi-paned windows, plank door, and the tongue-and-groove floorboards constructed of milled lumber;
- a wooden stoop and a rustic porch swing.

The manner in which the Bunkhouse contributes to the picturesque character of the mountain park setting.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1997/07/03

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Leisure
Park Fixture

Historic

Residence
Group Residence

Architect / Designer

n/a

Builder

Earl Spencer

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

8048

Status

Published

Related Places

General view

Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site of Canada

The Skoki Ski Lodge is a backcountry ski lodge facility built during the 1930s. It is located on the banks of Little Pipestone Creek, in the Skoki Valley north of Lake Louise, in…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Pavillon-dortoir

Banff National Park of Canada, Alberta, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1997/07/03

Vue générale du Pavillon-dortoir, montrant la volumétrie simple du pavillon, bâtiment d'une seule pièce dont le perron d'entrée est protégé par une avancée du toit à pignon soutenue par des pannes en bois rond, 1994.; Agence Parcs Canada / Parks Canada Agency, 1994.
Vue en angle
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1936/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2004/12/14

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le Pavillon-dortoir, du lieu historique national du Canada de l’Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki au parc national du Canada Banff, composé d'une seule pièce, est un bâtiment simple de style rustique en bois rond dont le perron d'entrée en bois est protégé par une avancée du toit à pignon soutenue par des pannes en bois rond. Bâti à 2164 mètres d'altitude au coeur des montagnes Rocheuses, à proximité d'un ruisseau de montagne alimenté par la fonte des glaciers et au milieu d'une forêt remplie d'épinettes et de pins albicaules, le Pavillon-dortoir est situé dans une clairière sur les berges du ruisseau Little Pipestone. Il a été construit en 1936 par Earl Spencer pour le compte de James Boyd, célèbre guide, pourvoyeur et constructeur de cabanes en bois rond de Banff, en même temps que trois autres cabanes de tourisme destinées, comme lui, à accueillir les touristes toujours plus nombreux à venir faire du ski dans le parc. Le pavillon-dortoir est une composante intrinsèque de l'auberge. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le Pavillon-dortoir a été désigné édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il représente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le Pavillon-dortoir illustre très bien le thème historique national des loisirs et du tourisme et l'évolution de ce type d'activités dans les parcs nationaux du Canada. Premier établissement du genre à avoir été exploité commercialement au Canada, l'auberge dont il fait partie a été créée expressément à l'intention des touristes-skieurs et représente les débuts du ski comme grande activité de loisir en Amérique du Nord. L'auberge de ski Skoki demeure encore aujourd'hui une importante destination à l'intérieur du parc, et le pavillon-dortoir continue d'accueillir des touristes en provenance du monde entier.

Valeur architecturale
Le Pavillon-dortoir est un très bon exemple de l'architecture rustique traditionnellement employée dans les parcs nationaux du Canada et la construction de stations d'hiver. Il offre un échantillon unique des méthodes traditionnelles originales de conception et de construction de bâtiments en bois rond fondées sur l'emploi de compétences et de matériaux locaux qui sont depuis longtemps associées à la région de Banff.

Valeur environnementale
Le pittoresque décor de montagne qui entoure le Pavillon-dortoir, la disposition des différents bâtiments et les rapports qu'ils ont entre eux, les sentiers historiques, les voies piétonnières et la nature inaltérée du paysage viennent renforcer la relation historique qui existe entre le bâtiment et le site de l'auberge de ski. Le Pavillon-dortoir se trouve toujours à son emplacement d'origine, à l'ouest du bâtiment principal. Le Pavillon-dortoir et quatre autres cabanes sont disposés en demi-cercle autour du bâtiment principal, placé au centre; le Pavillon-dortoir conserve son articulation physique et fonctionnelle avec le site de l'auberge de ski et la nature environnante. Le Pavillon-dortoir et les autres bâtiments de l'auberge constituent un point de repère visuel pour les visiteurs du parc et sont une destination de ski et de randonnée pédestre très connue des touristes. Encore aujourd'hui, on n'accède au site que par des modes de transport traditionnels, l'endroit a conservé le caractère de lieu isolé et sauvage qu'il avait à l'origine.

Sources : Kate Macfarlane, Skoki Ski Lodge, Banff National Park, Alberta. Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, rapport de recherche 96-105 ; Pavillon-dortoir, auberge de ski Skoki, parc national Banff, Alberta, Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 96-105.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments caractéristiques du Pavillon-dortoir devraient être respectés.

Son apparence fidèle à la tradition de l'architecture rustique traditionnelle et au mode de construction traditionnel en bois rond, comme en témoignent :
-la volumétrie simple du pavillon, bâtiment d'une seule pièce dont le perron d'entrée est protégé par une avancée du toit à pignon soutenue par des pannes en bois rond;
-l'utilisation presque exclusive de bois comme matériau, surtout des billes d'épinette taillées à la main;
-les murs faits de rondins posés les uns sur les autres sans emboîtement, avec coins assemblés en sabot;
-la porte qui s'ouvre au centre du mur pignon de façade;
-chacune des fenêtres uniques à carreaux multiples placées au centre des trois autres façades;
-la patine du bois altéré par les intempéries;
-les fenêtres à carreaux multiples, la porte en planches et les lames de plancher à rainure et languette, toutes faites de bois ouvré;
-le perron en bois et la balancelle rustique.

La manière dont le Pavillon-dortoir contribue au caractère pittoresque du décor de parc de montagne.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1997/07/03

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Loisirs
Accessoire de parc

Historique

Résidence
Résidence collective

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

Earl Spencer

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

8048

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

General view

Lieu historique national du Canada de l'Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki

L'Auberge de ski Skoki est une auberge de ski construite dans l'arrière-pays dans les années 1930. Elle est située sur la rive de la crique Little Pipestone, dans la vallée Skoki,…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches