Home / Accueil

Commissariat Building

3 Canal Lane, Rideau Canal National Historic Site, Ontario, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1994/02/12

General view of the Commissariat Building, showing the cross gable roof and the concentration of large supply doors, 2002.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, A. Guindon, 2002.
General view
Corner view of the Commissariat Building, showing the fenestration pattern on the north elevation, which illustrates its original administrative and residential functions, 1989.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, Couture, 1989.
Corner view
General view of the Commissariat Building emphasizing its imposing position within the Colonel By Valley, facing the Rideau Canal and overlooking its northern entrance, 2002.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, A. Guindon, 2002.
General view

Other Name(s)

Commissariat Building
Bytown Museum
Musée Bytown

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1827/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2009/02/09

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Commissariat Building, also known as the Bytown Museum, is an imposing three-storey, rough-coursed masonry structure that features three bays, a gable roof, supply doors on all three levels of the building, and a regular fenestration pattern. The Commissariat Building is located on the west side of the locks at the Ottawa Lockstation, at the lower end of Colonel By Valley, in the heart of Ottawa. As part of the Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada, it is the northernmost station along the Rideau Canal and is the oldest remaining stone building in Ottawa. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

The Commissariat Building is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical value
The Commissariat Building is one of the best examples of the national theme of the military defence strategy for Upper and Lower Canada in the 1820s and the evolution of that strategy over time. Located adjacent to the northern terminus of the Rideau Canal and near the heart of Ottawa’s commercial district, the building served as a depot for supplying bulk provisions to many of the construction sites along the northern section of the Rideau Canal, housed offices for Commissariat officials, and provided residential accommodation. Colonel By’s decision to commence construction of the canal at this site was the major impetus behind the founding and settlement of Bytown (now called Ottawa). As the only extant structure on the site dating from the period of construction of the Rideau Canal and having served as a depot for supplying the many construction sites along the Rideau Canal, the Commissariat Building is directly associated with the military origin and subsequent development of the Rideau waterway and the City of Ottawa.

Architectural value
The Commissariat Building is a very good example of a commercial or industrial building from the pre-Confederation era, erected in the British military traditions of the day. The building’s balanced proportions and symmetrical elevations lend it a particularly imposing presence, which is strengthened by the visual weight and texture of the masonry walls. The design of the building combines the functional requirements of a commissariat with a finely balanced composition of window and door openings, testifying to the superior design ability of the Corps of Royal Engineers. The high level of craftsmanship displayed in the masonry walls, constructed by the prominent Montreal contractor Thomas MacKay, reflects the importance placed on the construction of this building on the frontier of Upper Canada.

Environmental value
Along with the other elements of the lockstation, including the locks and lockmaster’s building, and due to its imposing character, design and location within the Colonel By Valley, the Commissariat Building reinforces the historic military character of its park-like setting. Its prominent sitting at the centre of Ottawa’s tourist area visible from the Ottawa River, as well as its visibility and accessibility as an historical museum make the Commissariat Building a well-known neighbourhood landmark. The building has also been popularized in innumerable paintings, photographs and souvenir items.

Sources: Marilyn E. Armstrong-Reynolds, Eleven Buildings, Northern Area, Rideau Canal, Ontario, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Report 91-131 to 91-175; Commissariat Building, Ottawa Lockstation, Ottawa, Ontario, Heritage Character Statement 91-134.

Character-Defining Elements

The following character-defining elements of the Commissariat Building should be respected.

Its highly functional and very good aesthetic design, which displays a distinctly pre-Confederation commercial and industrial character, as manifested in:
- the imposing scale and balanced proportions of the rectangular mass;
- the symmetrical elevations with window and door openings that form a balanced composition, enhanced by stone voussoirs;
- the cross gable roof with its cedar shingle cladding, replicating the original roofing material;
- the concentration of large supply doors on the east and south elevations, which illustrate its original storage functions;
- the fenestration pattern on the north elevation, which illustrates its original administrative and residential functions, and maximizes light levels and views of the Ottawa River;
- the reproduction doors and windows finished with period hardware, which recall the building’s 1840s appearance and contribute pattern and texture to the elevations;
- the interior layout, which has proven highly adaptable and as undergone only marginal changes, and the evidence it retains of the combined storage, administrative and residential uses, as can be seen in the differently sized spaces.

Its high-quality craftsmanship and materials, which reflect the building’s importance, for example:
- the rough coursed and textured masonry walls, with their well-executed masonry detailing, still in excellent condition and which testify to the skill of its builders;
- the interior detailing such as the wainscoting in the former residential section at the north end, the fireplace in the reading room on the third floor and a post and spindle staircase linking the second and third floors;
- the stone floors and walls of the interior.

The Commissariat Building’s visual prominence, contribution to the historic military character of its park-like setting, and landmark status, as evidenced in:
- its imposing position within the Colonel By Valley, facing the Rideau Canal and overlooking its northern entrance;
- its direct relationship to the other elements of the Ottawa Lockstation, including the locks proper and Lockmaster’s Building, and to the site’s 19th century circulation patterns, reinstated in the 1990s;
- its public function as an historical museum, which allows it to remain highly accessible.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

1994/02/12

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Leisure
Museum

Historic

Transport-Water
Canal or Canal Works

Architect / Designer

Royal Engineers

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

5299

Status

Published

Related Places

n/a

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Bâtiment de l'intendance

3 Canal Lane, Rideau Canal National Historic Site, Ontario, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1994/02/12

Vue générale du bâtiment de l’intendance, qui montre le toit à deux versants et la concentration des grandes portes de livraison, 2002.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, A. Guindon, 2002.
Vue générale
Vue en angle du bâtiment de l’intendance, qui montre l’agencement des fenêtres sur la façade nord, qui reflète les locaux administratifs et résidentiels qui s’y trouvaient autrefois, 1989.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, Couture, 1989.
Vue en angle
Vue générale du Bâtiment de l'intendance mettant de l'emphase sur sa situation imposante dans la vallée du Colonel-By, face au canal Rideau et en surplomb de son entrée nord, 2002.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada, A. Guindon, 2002.
Vue générale

Autre nom(s)

Bâtiment de l'intendance
Bytown Museum
Musée Bytown

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1827/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2009/02/09

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le bâtiment de l’intendance, aussi connu sous le nom de musée Bytown, est une imposante structure de trois étages aux murs de maçonnerie à assise irrégulière qui présente trois travées, un toit à deux versants, des portes de livraison aux trois étages et une fenestration régulière. Il se trouve du côté ouest des écluses au poste d’éclusage d’Ottawa, à l’extrémité inférieure de la vallée du Colonel-By, dans le cœur d’Ottawa. Situé dans le lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau, il est le poste d’éclusage le plus au nord du canal Rideau et il est le plus vieux des édifices en pierre qui restent à Ottawa. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le bâtiment de l’intendance est un édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de son importance historique, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan architectural et de la place privilégiée qu’il occupe au sein de son milieu.

Valeur historique
Le bâtiment de l’intendance est l’un des plus beaux spécimens associés au thème national de la stratégie de défense militaire du Haut et du Bas Canada adoptée dans les années 1820 et à l’évolution qu’elle a connue. Sis à côté du terminus nord du canal Rideau et près du centre du quartier commercial d’Ottawa, le bâtiment servait autrefois à entreposer les provisions destinées aux nombreux chantiers de construction établis sur le tronçon nord du canal Rideau, en plus d’abriter les bureaux des responsables de l’intendance et des logements. La décision du colonel By de débuter la construction du canal à cet endroit a été le moteur de la création et du peuplement de Bytown (aujourd’hui Ottawa). À titre de seule structure demeurant sur les lieux qui date de la construction du canal Rideau et en sa qualité d’entrepôt de provisions pour les nombreux chantiers de construction aménagés le long du canal Rideau, le bâtiment de l’intendance est directement associé avec l’origine militaire et le développement subséquent de la rivière Rideau et de la ville d’Ottawa.

Valeur architecturale
Le bâtiment de l’intendance est un très bon spécimen d’un bâtiment à vocation commerciale ou industrielle datant d’avant la Confédération et construit selon la tradition militaire britannique de l’époque. Les proportions équilibrées du bâtiment et ses façades symétriques lui prêtent une présence particulièrement imposante qui est accentuée par la lourdeur visuelle et la texture des murs de maçonnerie. Le plan du bâtiment combine les exigences fonctionnelles de l’intendance avec la composition délicatement équilibrée des ouvertures de fenêtres et de portes, et reflète le talent exceptionnel du Corps of Royal Engineers. La haute qualité de l’exécution se voit dans les murs de maçonnerie, construits par le grand entrepreneur montréalais Thomas MacKay, et illustre l’attention portée à la construction de cet édifice situé à la frontière du Haut-Canada.

Valeur environnementale
Avec les autres éléments du poste d’éclusage, dont les écluses et le bureau de l’éclusier, et en raison de son caractère imposant, de sa conception et de son emplacement dans la vallée du Colonel-By, le bâtiment de l’intendance renforce le caractère militaire historique du cadre semblable à un parc où il est situé. Sa localisation en vue, au cœur de la zone touristique d’Ottawa visible depuis la rivière des Outaouais, ainsi que sa visibilité et son accessibilité à titre de musée historique, font du bâtiment de l’intendance un repère bien connu dans le quartier. Le bâtiment a aussi été popularisé grâce à d’innombrables peintures, photographies et articles-souvenir.

Sources : Marilyn E. Armstrong-Reynolds, 11 bâtiments, secteur nord, canal Rideau (Ontario), Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine rapports de recherche 91-131 à 91-175; Bâtiment de l’intendance, poste d’éclusage d’Ottawa, Ottawa (Ontario), Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 91-134.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments suivants, qui définissent le caractère du bâtiment de l’intendance, devraient être respectés.

Sa très bonne conception esthétique et sa fonctionnalité supérieure, qui présente un net caractère commercial et industriel datant d’avant la Confédération, c’est-à-dire :
- l’échelle imposante et les proportions équilibrées de la masse rectangulaire;
- la symétrie des façades, avec la composition équilibrée des ouvertures de fenêtres et de portes agrémentées par des voussoirs en pierre;
- le toit à deux versants dont les axes se recoupent au centre des élévations longues avec sa couverture en bardeaux de cèdre, fidèle à la couverture d’origine;
- la concentration des grandes portes de livraison sur les façades est et sud, qui reflète la fonction d’entrepôt originale du bâtiment;
- l’agencement des fenêtres sur la façade nord, qui reflète les locaux administratifs et résidentiels qui s’y trouvaient autrefois et qui laisse passer autant que possible la lumière naturelle tout en donnant des vues sur la rivière des Outaouais;
- les reproductions des portes et des fenêtres avec la quincaillerie d’époque, qui rappellent l’apparence du bâtiment dans les années 1840 et contribuent à mettre en relief le motif et la texture des façades;
- la disposition intérieure, qui s’est avérée très polyvalente et n’a exigé que de légers changements, et les signes qui restent de l’utilisation combinée du bâtiment comme entrepôt, locaux administratifs et logements, dont témoigne la dimension variable des espaces.

La haute qualité de l’exécution et des matériaux, qui souligne l’importance du bâtiment, c’est à dire :
- les murs de maçonnerie à assise irrégulière et texture grossière, avec les détails en maçonnerie de belle facture qui sont encore en excellent état, ce qui reflète le talent de ceux qui les ont construits;
- les détails intérieurs, comme les lambris dans l’ancienne aile résidentielle du côté nord, le foyer dans la salle de lecture du troisième étage et l’escalier à poteaux et pilastres qui relie le deuxième et le troisième étages;
- les planchers et murs en pierre à l’intérieur.


La proéminence visuelle du bâtiment de l’intendance, sa contribution au caractère historique et militaire du cadre semblable à un parc où il est situé et son statut de repère, c’est-à-dire :
- sa situation imposante dans la vallée du Colonel-By, face au canal Rideau et en surplomb de son entrée nord;
- sa relation directe avec les autres éléments du poste d’éclusage d’Ottawa, dont les écluses mêmes et le bureau de l’éclusier, ainsi qu’avec les axes de circulation du XIXe siècle qui ont été rétablis dans les années 1990;
- son rôle public de musée historique, qui signifie que le bâtiment est fortement accessible.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

1994/02/12

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Loisirs
Musée

Historique

Transport maritime
Canal de navigation ou ouvrages de canal

Architecte / Concepteur

Royal Engineers

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

5299

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

Photo of a lock

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Bâti au milieu du XIXe siècle, le lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau est une voie navigable artificielle de 200 km aménagée de la rivière des Outaouais au lac…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches