Home / Accueil

War of 1812 Timeline: January 1813 - March 1813

Timeline PDF

                                                    January 1813 - March 1813

1813

Arrival of British reinforcements to Quebec City, Lower Canada: 101st Regiment and Royal Marine Artillery.

 

Raising of the Frontier Light Infantry (militia), Lower Canada.

Winter 1812-1813

American contraband enters Canada to sustain British troops.

Illegal commerce between the U.S. and British North America was abetted by frozen waterways in the winter and by geography since too few troops were available to patrol the lengthy border.  U.S. contraband was generally foodstuffs required to feed British troops.  Meat was a common export as colonial supplies could not match military demands and the high price paid for this commodity by the government made it a worthwhile endeavour for American entrepreneurs.  Goods entered Canada, among other places, from the Thousand Islands, Prescott, and Cornwall, Upper Canada, and into Lower Canada along Lake Champlain and the Richelieu River.

January 1813

The transport vessel Diligence, loaded with weapons for the New Brunswick militia, runs aground near Machias, District of Maine; crew and cargo are captured.

 

British authorities forbid Major-General George Stracey Smyth to issue any more privateer commissions, thereby forcing New Brunswick merchants who are interested in privateering to obtain letters of marque in Halifax, or else to invest in Nova Scotia-based privateering ventures.

 

Ensign George Morehouse of the New Brunswick Fencibles leads a detachment from Meductic and captures Houlton, District of Maine in an effort to help secure the strategically important line of communication between Saint John New Brunswick and Quebec, Lower Canada.

 

Royal Engineer Lieutenant-Colonel Ralph Bruyeres completes a survey of the Canadian shore of the St. Lawrence River and recommends fortifying key locations from Coteau-du-Lac , Lower Canada to Kingston , Upper Canada.

January-October 1813

Several volunteer militia companies are formed on Prince Edward Island, and the colony's militia districts are reorganized.

9 January 1813

Great Britain officially declares war on the United States.

 

HMS Acasta and HMS Poictiers capture the American privateer schooner Highflyer, which is taken into British service.

11 January 1813

A company of Provincial Royal Artillery Drivers is raised in Lower Canada.

17 January 1813

The HMS Narcissus captures USS Viper in the Gulf of Mexico.

21 January 1813

Raising of the Canadian Light Dragoons, Lower Canada.

22 January 1813

Battle of Frenchtown, Michigan Territory. 

On 18 January, American regulars and Kentucky Militia led by Brigadier General James Winchester expelled the British forces from Frenchtown.  Four days later, from across the frozen Detroit River at Fort Amherstburg, Colonel Henry Procter counterattacked with a force of British regulars, militia, the Provincial Marine, and over 600 First Nations fighters led by Wyandot Chief Roundhead (Stiahta).  Procter's men surprised the Americans who, before surrendering, inflicted heavy casualties on the British.  Fearful of a counterattack, Procter quickly withdrew to Amherstburg, abandoning the wounded American prisoners of war.  These were executed by the fighters prompting the American battle cry: "Remember the Raisin!"  The battle forced Winchester's superior, Major General William Henry Harrison, to cancel his 1813 winter offensive and instead constructed Fort Meigs in Ohio.

6 February 1813

In retaliation for American privateers harassing their merchant ships, the British institute a blockade of Delaware and Chesapeake Bays.

7 February 1813

Raid on Elizabethtown (Brockville), Upper Canada. Captain Benjamin Forsyth's company of United States Riflemen and New York State Militia successfully attack the settlement on the St. Lawrence River.

15 February 1813

Six companies (573 men of all ranks) of the 104th Regiment (formerly the New Brunswick Fencibles) begin their epic winter march from Fredericton, New Brunswick to the Canadas.

In early 1813, Governor General Sir George Prevost ordered reinforcements from the Nova Scotia command, which included New Brunswick. The order reflected Prevost's belief that the majority of the fighting would occur in the Canadas, and that the Royal Navy would guarantee the relative security of the Maritime Provinces. The 573 men of the 104th Regiment left Fredericton in mid-February and snow-shoed in the bitter cold to Québec, Lower Canada the last of them arriving on 15 March. After briefly resting, they proceeded to Kingston, Upper Canada and eventually to the Niagara Peninsula, where they saw plenty of action. Their march drew attention to the strategic importance of the Saint John River in winter, when ice rendered the Gulf of St. Lawrence inaccessible to ships.

22 February 1813

Raid on Ogdensburg, New York.

The war along the St. Lawrence River frontier was characterized mainly by predatory acts launched from both sides of the river.  Partly in retribution for a U.S. raid on Elizabethtown (Brockville), Upper Canada in February 1813, and as a ploy to distract the Americans while Governor General Sir George Prevost departed Prescott, Lieutenant-Colonel George Macdonell led troops from that post and feigned performing military drills on the frozen river before initiating an attack on Ogdensburg, the only garrisoned U.S. town along the St. Lawrence.  The Americans were driven out of the town during the assault after which their military and private stores were plundered.  For the remainder of the war, Ogdensburg remained ungarrisoned making the St. Lawrence River route more secure for British supply convoys.

24 February 1813

USS Hornet takes HMS Peacock off the coast of Guyana.

26 February 1813 

Raising of the 6th Battalion of the Lower Canada Select Embodied Militia.

March 1813          

The British naval blockade is extended along the eastern seaboard of the United States.

 

The Provincial Artillery Company is raised in Upper Canada under the command of Captain Alexander Cameron of the Lincoln Militia.

3 March 1813

Niagara Provincial Light Dragoons, known as "Merritt's Troop," is formed.  This small unit, commanded by Lieutenant, later Captain William Hamilton Merritt, will participate in the campaigns on the Niagara Peninsula until the end of the war and will often confront former neighbours led by Lieutenant Colonel Joseph Willcocks, commander of the treasonous Canadian Volunteers.

 

Another company of Provincial Royal Artillery Drivers is raised in Upper Canada to reinforce the inadequate numbers of the Corps of Royal Artillery Drivers stationed in British North America.  The men of this militia force are paid, fed and clothed the same as Royal Artillery Drivers.

 

During a reorganization of the Upper Canada Militia, the Corps of Provincial Artificers is formed.

10 March 1813

The first escaped African American slaves in Chesapeake Bay seek refuge onboard HMS Victorious.

15 March 1813

The sixth company of the 104th Regiment reaches Quebec City, Lower Canada.

 

Master Commandant Oliver Hazard Perry is ordered to assume command of the American squadron on Lake Erie by Commodore Isaac Chauncey. Perry arrives at Erie, Pennsylvania for his new command on 27 March.

17-18 March 1813

Artillery duel between Black Rock, New York and Fort Erie, Upper Canada.

18 March 1813

Raising of the Volunteer Incorporated Militia Battalion, Upper Canada.

Soldiers of the Sedentary Militia and Flank Companies raised at the county level in Upper Canada enlisted for short terms of service, which had a negative impact on unit effectiveness.  Thirteen companies of the Incorporated Militia were formed for permanent service in Prescott, Kingston, York and Niagara.  Trained and equipped in York, the regiment was sent to the Niagara peninsula in July 1814, arriving before the Battle of Lundy's Lane. Here, the battalion absorbed the American attack on the British left flank and suffered one third losses.  The survivors rallied and reformed under Major James Kerby, a local merchant.  The Regiment served on the Niagara Peninsula until the end of 1814.  It was disbanded on 25 March 1815.

19 March 1813

Commodore Sir James Lucas Yeo is named the chief commander of Britain's naval force on Canadian waters.

25 March 1813

Raising of the Dorchester Provincial Light Dragoons, Lower Canada.

 

27 March 1813

The men of the 104th Regiment leave Quebec, Lower Canada for Kingston, Upper Canada.

← Back    |    Next →

War of 1812 Timeline


Section 1: 1775 - November 1811
Section 2: January 1812 - June 1812
Section 3: July 1812 - September 1812
Section 4: October 1812 - December 1812
Section 5: January 1813 - March 1813
Section 6: April 1813 - June 1813
Section 7: July 1813 - September 1813
Section 8: October 1813 - December 1813
Section 9: January 1814 - March 1814
Section 10: April 1814 - June 1814
Section 11: July 1814 - December 1814
Section 12: January 1815 - 1871

Government of Canada official War of 1812 Bicentennial Website

RELATED LINKS

Home / Accueil

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812 - De janvier 1813 à mars 1813

Chronologie PDF


De janvier 1813 à mars 1813

1813

Arrivée de renforts britanniques à Québec : le 101e régiment et la Royal Marine Artillery.

 

Levée de la milice d'infanterie légère de la frontière dans le Bas-Canada.

Hiver 1812-1813

La contrebande américaine sert à approvisionner des troupes britanniques en nourriture.

Les voies d'eau gelées et les particularités géographiques favorisent le commerce illégal entre les États‑Unis et l'Amérique du Nord britannique, car les troupes sont trop peu nombreuses pour patrouiller sur la longue frontière qui sépare les deux pays. Les produits de contrebande en provenance des États‑Unis sont généralement des denrées alimentaires pour nourrir les troupes britanniques, notamment la viande, car les approvisionnements de la colonie ne permettent pas de satisfaire la demande des militaires, et le prix élevé que le gouvernement est prêt à payer pour obtenir ces produits en fait une belle occasion pour les entrepreneurs. Les denrées entrent donc au Canada, notamment par les Mille‑Îles, Prescott et Cornwall dans le Haut-Canada, et le long du lac Champlain dans le Bas-Canada. Cette activité illégale florissante illustre bien l'état d'esprit qui anime les individus des deux côtés de la frontière pour qui l'intérêt personnel passe devant l'intérêt national.

Janvier 1813

Le navire de transport Diligence, chargé d'armes destinées à la milice du Nouveau-Brunswick, s'échoue près de Machias, dans le district du Maine. L'équipage est capturé et les marchandises saisies.

 

Les autorités britanniques interdisent au major-général George Stracey Smyth de retenir les services d'autres corsaires, ce qui oblige les marchands du Nouveau-Brunswick intéressés par ces activités à obtenir des lettres de marque à Halifax, ou encore à investir dans des entreprises corsaires basées en Nouvelle-Écosse.

 

Le lieutenant-colonel Ralph Bruyeres des Royal Engineers termine son étude des rives canadiennes du fleuve Saint-Laurent et recommande la fortification de lieux clés depuis Coteau-du-Lac dans le Bas-Canada jusqu'à Kingston dans le Haut-Canada.

De janvier à octobre 1813

Plusieurs compagnies de miliciens volontaires sont formées sur l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, et les districts de la milice sont réorganisés au sein de la colonie.

9 janvier 1813

La Grande-Bretagne déclare officiellement la guerre aux États-Unis.

 

Le HMS Acasta et le HMS Poictiers capturent la goélette corsaire américaine Highflyer, qui est mise en service au sein des forces britanniques.

11 janvier 1813

Une compagnie de conducteurs provinciaux de la Royal Artillery est levée dans le Bas-Canada.

17 janvier 1813

Le HMS Narcissus s'empare de l'USS Viper dans le golfe du Mexique.

21 janvier 1813

Les Canadian Light Dragoons sont formés dans le Bas-Canada.

22 janvier 1813

Bataille de Frenchtown, dans le territoire du Michigan.

Le 18 janvier, des soldats réguliers américains et des miliciens du Kentucky dirigés par le brigadier‑général James Winchester expulsent les troupes britanniques occupant Frenchtown. Quatre jours plus tard, de l'autre côté de la rivière Détroit au fort Amherstburg, le colonel Henry Procter lance une contre-attaque à la tête d'une force composée de soldats réguliers britanniques, de miliciens, de membres de la marine provinciale et de plus de 600 guerriers amérindiens dirigés par le chef wyandot Tête Ronde (Stiahta). Les hommes de Procter prennent les Américains par surprise, mais ceux‑ci infligent de lourdes pertes aux Britanniques avant de se rendre. Craignant une contre-attaque, Procter se replie rapidement sur Amherstburg, laissant derrière lui les prisonniers américains blessés, qui sont par la suite exécutés par les guerriers. Cet événement est à l'origine du cri de guerre américain « Souvenons-nous de la Raisin! ».  En raison de cette défaite, le supérieur de Winchester, le major général William Henry Harrison, doit annuler son offensive de l'hiver 1813 pour construire le fort Meigs en Ohio.

6 février 1813

En représailles au harcèlement de leurs navires marchands par les corsaires américains, les Britanniques instaurent le blocus des baies du Delaware et de Chesapeake.

7 février 1813

Un raid est lancé contre Elizabethtown (Brockville), dans le Haut-Canada. La compagnie de fusiliers américains du capitaine Benjamin Forsyth et la milice de l'État de New York livrent une bataille fructueuse contre la ville située sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

15 février 1813

Six compagnies (573 hommes de tous rangs) du 104e régiment (anciennement les New Brunswick Fencibles) commencent leur légendaire marche hivernale depuis Fredericton au Nouveau-Brunswick jusqu'aux Canadas.

Au début de 1813, le gouverneur général sir George Prévost ordonne que des renforts lui soient envoyés à partir du commandement de la Nouvelle-Écosse, qui comprend alors le Nouveau-Brunswick. Prévost croit que la plupart des combats auront lieu dans les Canadas, et que la Royal Navy est en mesure d'assurer une protection adéquate des provinces maritimes. Les 573 hommes du 104e régiment quittent Fredericton à la mi-février. Munis de raquettes, ils marchent dans un froid glacial jusqu'à Québec, dans le Bas-Canada, les derniers d'entre eux arrivant le 15 mars. Après un bref repos, ils continuent jusqu'à Kingston, dans le Haut-Canada, et plus tard jusqu'à la péninsule du Niagara, où ils prendront part à de nombreux affrontements. Leur marche met en lumière l'importance stratégique du fleuve Saint-Jean en hiver, lorsque les glaces empêchent toute navigation dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent.

22 février 1813

Un raid est lancé contre Ogdensburg, dans l'État de New York.

Les affrontements le long de la frontière du Saint-Laurent sont caractérisés principalement par des opérations de pillage lancées des deux côtés du fleuve. En partie en représailles à un raid des États-Unis sur Elizabethtown (Brockville) dans le Haut-Canada en février 1813, et aussi pour distraire les Américains pendant que le gouverneur général sir George Prévost quitte Prescott, le lieutenant-colonel George Macdonell quitte ce poste à la tête d'une troupe et simule la tenue d'exercices militaires sur le fleuve gelé avant de lancer une attaque sur Ogdensburg, la seule ville américaine le long du Saint‑Laurent qui héberge une garnison. Les Britanniques chassent les Américains pendant l'attaque, puis pillent les entrepôts militaires et privés de la ville. Ogdensburg est laissée sans garnison jusqu'à la fin de la guerre, et les convois de ravitaillement britanniques peuvent donc circuler plus librement sur le fleuve.

24 février 1813

L'USS Hornet s'empare du HMS Peacock au large de la côte de la Guyane.

26 février 1813 

Le 6e bataillon de la milice d'élite du Bas-Canada est levé.

Mars 1813             

Le blocus britannique est élargi à l'ensemble du littoral est des États-Unis.

 

La Compagnie provinciale d'artillerie est levée dans le Haut-Canada. Elle est dirigée par le capitaine Alexander Cameron de la milice de Lincoln.

3 mars 1813

La troupe des Niagara Provincial Light Dragoons, également appelées « la troupe de Merritt », est formée. Cette petite unité dirigée par le lieutenant puis capitaine William Hamilton Merritt, participera aux campagnes dans la péninsule du Niagara jusqu'à la fin de la guerre, et affrontera souvent d'anciens voisins dirigés par le lieutenant-colonel Joseph Willcocks, commandant des traîtres Volontaires canadiens.

 

Une autre compagnie de conducteurs provinciaux de la Royal Artillery est levée dans le Haut-Canada pour compenser le nombre insuffisant de soldats britanniques du Corps of Royal Artillery Drivers postés en Amérique du Nord britannique. Les hommes qui font partie de cette milice reçoivent le même salaire, la même nourriture et les mêmes uniformes que leurs homologues britanniques.

 

Dans le cadre de la réorganisation de la milice du Haut-Canada, le Corps d'artificiers provinciaux est créé.

10 mars 1813

Les premiers esclaves afro-américains en fuite dans la baie de Chesapeake cherchent refuge à bord du HMS Victorious.

15 mars 1813

La sixième compagnie du 104e régiment, qui a cheminé par voie terrestre depuis le Nouveau-Brunswick, arrive à Québec dans le Bas-Canada.

 

Le commandant en chef Oliver Hazard Perry reçoit l'ordre du commodore Isaac Chauncey de prendre le commandement d'un escadron américain sur le lac Érié. Perry entre dans ses nouvelles fonctions à Érié en Pennsylvanie le 27 mars.

17 et 18 mars 1813

Un duel d'artillerie a lieu entre Black Rock dans l'État de New York et le fort Érié dans le Haut-Canada.

18 mars 1813

Le Bataillon de la milice volontaire incorporée est levé dans le Haut-Canada.

Les soldats de la milice sédentaire et des compagnies de flanc enrôlés dans les comtés du Haut-Canada étaient en service pendant de courtes périodes, ce qui réduisait l'efficacité de ces unités. Treize compagnies de la milice incorporée, en service permanent, sont donc formées à Prescott, à Kingston, à York et à Niagara. Entraîné et équipé à York, le régiment est par la suite envoyé dans la péninsule du Niagara en juillet 1814, où il arrive juste avant la bataille de Lundy's Lane. Lors de cet affrontement, le bataillon encaisse l'attaque des Américains sur le flanc gauche des Britanniques : un milicien sur trois est tué. Les survivants se rassemblent alors autour du major James Kerby, un marchand de la région. Le régiment demeure dans la péninsule du Niagara jusqu'à la fin de 1814. Il est dissout le 25 mars 1815.

19 mars 1813

Le commodore sir James Lucas Yeo devient commandant en chef des forces navales britanniques dans les eaux canadiennes.

25 mars 1813

Les Dorchester Provincial Light Dragoons sont formés dans le Bas-Canada.

27 mars 1813

Les hommes du 104e régiment quittent Québec dans le Bas-Canada en direction de Kingston dans le Haut-Canada.

 

← Précédent    |    Suivant →

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812


Section 1 : De 1775 à novembre 1811
Section 2 : De janvier 1812 à juin 1812
Section 3 : De juillet 1812 à septembre 1812
Section 4 : D'octobre 1812 à décembre 1812
Section 5 : De janvier 1813 à mars 1813
Section 6 : D'avril 1813 à juin 1813
Section 7 : De juillet 1813 à septembre 1813
Section 8 : D'octobre 1813 à décembre 1813
Section 9 : De janvier 1814 à mars 1814
Section 10 : D'avril 1814 à juin 1814
Section 11 : De juillet 1814 à décembre 1814
Section 12 : De janvier 1815 à 1871

Site web officiel du Gouvernement du Canada du bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812

LIENS CONNEXES