Home / Accueil

War of 1812: January 1812 to June 1812

 

Timeline PDF

January 1812 - June 1812

1812 

Arrival of British reinforcements to Quebec City, Lower Canada: 103rd Regiment.

 

Militia Volunteer company strength units are formed in counties throughout Upper Canada:

  • Cavalry Troops: 1st Leeds, 2nd Grenville, 1st Lennox, 1st Addington, 1st Prince Edward, 1st York, 1st and 2nd Lincoln, 2nd Essex, and 1st Kent.
  • Artillery Companies: 1st Frontenac, 1st and 2nd Lincoln.
  • Rifle Companies: 1st Grenville, 1st and 2nd Leeds, 1st York, 1st Norfolk, and 1st Oxford.

January-May 1812

First Nations raid American settlements in the territories of Missouri and Indiana.

February 1812

The Militia Act of Upper Canada is amended.

The first Militia Act of Upper Canada was adopted in 1793 to organize the local citizenry in the defence of the colony.  It remained relatively unchanged until early 1812 when, faced with the growing threat of war with the United States, Major-General Isaac Brock, in his capacity as President of the Legislative Council of Upper Canada, asked the provincial legislature for funds to better prepare the militia in case of hostilities.  The resulting law provided each battalion of county militia two flank companies that would receive equipment, regular training and pay. The flank companies were generally the most reliable units and saw the bulk of the fighting of the province's militia during the war.

 

Governor General Sir George Prevost orders the recruitment of a regiment of fencible infantry from the eastern districts of Upper Canada. The Glengarry Light Infantry will see much action across the province during the War of 1812.

April 1812       

Raising of the Select Embodied Troops, Lower-Canada.

4 April 1812

Lower Canada's legislature passes a new militia law.  Lower Canada's sedentary militia has over 50,000 men.

Despite linguistic factions between English- and French-speaking members of Lower Canada's Legislative Assembly, Governor General Sir George Prevost, was able to get representatives to pass a new Militia Act.  Support was given from the French-Canadian elite who believed loyalty to the crown was in the best interest of their nation.  Furthermore, with war looming and few British regulars for protection, mobilizing domestic forces was deemed necessary.  The new act strengthened the former militia law by increasing expenditures to £12,000 (£30,000 if war erupted) and to mobilize a force of 2,000 men between the ages of 18-25 chosen by lot for the Select Embodied Militia.  Conscription was most resisted in rural parishes where habitants considered their duty to be first and foremost to their families and farms.

15 April 1812

Raising of the Provincial Corps of Light Infantry, known as the Voltigeurs canadiens.

With war threatening, Major Charles-Michel d'Irumberry de Salaberry proposed raising a corps of predominately French-speaking volunteers in Lower Canada to increase the number of troops available to defend the colony.  Governor General Sir George Prevost approved of the idea and gave Salaberry command of the Provincial Corps of Light Infantry, also known as the Voltigeurs canadiens.  Financed by the province, the corps was not part of the regular British Army establishment but was similarly trained, equipped and armed.  The unit participated in pivotal actions in both Lower and Upper Canada and was disbanded in 1815.  The Voltigeurs' outstanding military exploits confirmed French-Canadian loyalty to the crown and their legacy remains a source of pride among French-Canadians.

 

Lieutenant-Colonel Charles-Michel d'Irumberry de Salaberry named commander of the newly created Voltigeurs.

Charles-Michel d'Irumberry de Salaberry was from a prominent French-speaking Lower Canadian family and as an officer of the British 60th Regiment of Foot had experience fighting abroad.  As tensions between Britain and the United States intensified Salaberry proposed raising a corps of volunteers to increase the forces available to repel a potential American invasion.  Governor General Sir George Prevost named him commander of this corps known as the Voltigeurs canadiens.  Throughout the war there were several disputes between Prevost and Salaberry over commissions and recognition of service causing much frustration for the latter.  Salaberry's accomplishments were recognized in 1817 when he received a knighthood, the Order of the Bath.  Because of the victory at Chateauguay Salaberry became a source of pride and national folk hero.

May 1812              

Raising of four battalions of the Lower Canada Select Embodied Militia.

9 May 1812           

The Royal Newfoundland Fencibles, then stationed in Kingston, Upper Canada, are ordered to form five companies for naval service on the Great Lakes.

12 May 1812

Major General Henry Dearborn, commander of the United-States Northern Department, establishes his headquarters in Albany, New York.

Summer 1812

Charismatic Shawnee Chief Tecumseh allies his First Nations confederacy with the British.

Born circa 1768 in a Shawnee village in what is now Ohio, Tecumseh (Tech-kum-thai) became in the 1790s co-leader with his brother, the Prophet (Tenskwatawa), of a movement to restore and preserve traditional First Nations values. Tecumseh believed that a broad confederacy of First Peoples could drive back white settlement and visited nations from Florida to the Great Lakes region to promote his ideas. Seeing the Americans as the greater threat, he allied himself with the British in 1812 and assembled a substantial force of First Nations fighters. He assisted in the capture of Detroit and fought in numerous battles in Ohio and Michigan Territory. The respected and formidable chief was killed fighting at the Battle of the Thames on 5 October 1813. 

5 June 1812           

On Lake Ontario the USS Oneida seizes the British Schooner Lord Nelson on suspicion of smuggling and is taken to Sackets Harbor, New York.

16 June 1812

After a winter of great privation, Britain suspends the orders-in-council against neutral shipping.

18 June 1812

Unaware of the British suspension of the orders-in-council, President James Madison signs a declaration of war against Britain.

Although inconvenient to Britain and France, the embargo was harder on America, especially New England. Thus, in March 1809, then President Thomas Jefferson had replaced the Embargo Act with the Non-Intercourse Act, restoring trade with everyone except Britain and France. This was superseded in 1810 by Macon's Bill No. 2 (after Representative Nathaniel Macon), by which the United States restored trade with Britain and France but promised to cease trading with the enemy of whichever was first to recognize neutral rights. In 1811, after France declared it was ready to do so, the United States renewed non-intercourse against Britain. On 16 June 1812, after a winter of severe privation, Britain announced that it would follow suit. However, by the time word reached Washington, war had already been declared.

June 1812              

News of war between Britain and the U.S. spreads to British posts due to the efforts of John Jacob Astor, head of the Pacific Fur Trade Company.

The declaration of war spread quickly to British frontier outposts through mercantile channels.  While traveling to Washington attempting to avert hostilities between Britain and the United States, John Jacob Astor, an ambitious New York merchant with fur trade interests in the Great Lakes region, learned that war had been declared.  To prevent seizure of his assets in British territory at Fort St. Joseph, he sent word to his western agents via multiple channels including through agents in Montreal from whence a messenger was dispatched and subsequently notified British posts along the way of war's declaration.  Informed of the news ahead of the U.S. garrison at Fort Mackinac, the British stationed at Fort St. Joseph captured Mackinac in July before the Americans could prepare a defence. 

23 June 1812         

In the first action of the war, USS President and HMS Belvidera exchange fire in a running battle off the Connecticut Coast.

25 June 1812

News of the declaration of War reaches Fort George, Upper Canada. 

Contemporary accounts mention that American officers from Fort Niagara were dinner guests at Fort George when news of the American declaration of war arrived.  Thomas Clark, a Queenston merchant and business associate of John Jacob Astor, had received the news from a Mr. Vosburgh the previous day. After hearing the shocking news, the assembly continued their meal.  Following toasts to both King George and President Madison, the Americans returned to their fort in peace.   An American newspaper account noted that "several American gentlemen were there on a visit who were treated very politely by the Governor," namely Major-General Isaac Brock.   The news of war was very unwelcome on both sides of the Niagara River. 

 

News of the declaration of war reaches Sackets Harbor, New York.

26 June 1812 

Governor General Sir George Prevost learns of the American declaration of war while in Quebec City, Lower Canada.

 

Innkeeper Abner Hubbard and three companions row out from Mullin's Bay, New York to Carleton Island in the St. Lawrence River and capture the small British outpost consisting of a sergeant, three privates and two women.

27 June 1812         

HMS Belvidera enters Halifax, Nova Scotia where Vice-Admiral Herbert Sawyer concludes that the engagement with USS President on 23 June 1812 was accidental.

 

Boats from HMS Queen Charlotte capture the American sloop Commencement off Fort Erie, Upper Canada.

28 June 1812

News of the declaration of war reaches Fort Amherstburg, Upper Canada.

29 June 1812

Word reaches Halifax, Nova Scotia of the official declaration of war.

 

Proclamation ordering American citizens to leave Quebec City, Lower Canada and area.

30 June 1812

A United States army under Brigadier General William Hull, after a march from Dayton, Ohio, arrives on the Detroit frontier in preparation for the invasion of south western Upper Canada.

← Back    |    Next →

War of 1812 Timeline


Section 1: 1775 - November 1811
Section 2: January 1812 - June 1812
Section 3: July 1812 - September 1812
Section 4: October 1812 - December 1812 
Section 5: January 1813 - March 1813
Section 6: April 1813 - June 1813
Section 7: July 1813 - September 1813
Section 8: October 1813 - December 1813
Section 9: January 1814 - March 1814
Section 10: April 1814 - June 1814
Section 11: July 1814 - December 1814
Section 12: January 1815 - 1871

Government of Canada official  War of 1812  Bicentennial Website

RELATED LINKS

Home / Accueil

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812 - De janvier 1812 à juin 1812

Chronologie PDF


De janvier 1812 à juin 1812

1812 

Arrivée de renforts britanniques à Québec : le 103e régiment.

 

Des unités de miliciens volontaires de la taille de compagnies sont formées dans les comtés du Haut-Canada :

  • Cavalerie : 1re de Leeds, 2e de Grenville, 1re de Lennox, 1re d'Addington, 1re du Prince Edward, 1re de York, 1re et 2e de Lincoln, 2e d'Essex et 1re de Kent.
  • Compagnies d'artillerie : 1re de Frontenac, 1re et 2e de Lincoln.
  • Compagnies de fusiliers : 1re de Grenville, 1re et 2e de Leeds, 1re de York, 1re de Norfolk et 1re d'Oxford.

De janvier à mai 1812

Des Amérindiens lancent des raids contre les colons américains établis dans les territoires du Missouri et de l'Indiana.

Février 1812

La loi sur la milice du Haut-Canada est modifiée.

En 1793, une première loi sur la milice est adoptée dans le Haut-Canada pour organiser la défense de la colonie par les citoyens. Elle demeure inchangée jusqu'au début de 1812. La menace d'une guerre avec les États-Unis devenant alors de plus en plus concrète, le major-général Isaac Brock, en qualité de président du Conseil législatif du Haut-Canada, demande des fonds à l'assemblée législative afin de préparer la milice à un éventuel conflit. La loi est modifiée pour fournir à chaque bataillon de la milice de comté deux compagnies de flanc dont les membres recevront de l'équipement, un entraînement régulier ainsi qu'un salaire. Les compagnies de flanc sont dans l'ensemble les unités les plus compétentes et mènent la plupart des combats pendant la guerre.

 

Le gouverneur général sir George Prévost ordonne le recrutement d'un régiment d'infanterie parmi les habitants des districts est du Haut-Canada. Le Glengarry Light Infantry prendra part à de nombreux combats dans la province pendant la guerre de 1812.

Avril 1812       

La milice d'élite du Bas-Canada est levée.

4 avril 1812

Une nouvelle loi sur la milice est adoptée par la législature du Bas-Canada. La milice sédentaire du Bas-Canada compte au-delà de 50 000 hommes.

Malgré les dissensions linguistiques entre députés francophones et anglophones de l'Assemblée législative du Bas-Canada, sir George Prévost, gouverneur en chef de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, parvient à convaincre les représentants d'adopter la nouvelle Loi sur la milice. Il obtient pour ce faire l'appui de l'élite canadienne-française pour qui la loyauté envers la Couronne est dans les meilleurs intérêts de la nation. De plus, comme la guerre menace et que les forces régulières britanniques ne peuvent suffire pour assurer la protection, il devient nécessaire de mobiliser les forces locales. La nouvelle loi a pour but de renforcer l'ancienne loi sur la milice en augmentant les dépenses à 12 000 £  (30 000 £ si la guerre éclate) et en mobilisant 2 000 hommes âgés de 18 à 25 ans choisis par tirage au sort pour la milice d'élite. La conscription fait l'objet d'une grande résistance dans les paroisses rurales dont les habitants se disent d'abord et avant tout loyaux envers leur famille et leur terre.

15 avril 1812

Un corps provincial d'infanterie légère est formé : les Voltigeurs canadiens.

La guerre menace d'éclater et le major Charles-Michel de Salaberry propose la formation dans le Bas‑Canada d'un corps d'infanterie essentiellement composé de volontaires francophones afin d'accroître l'effectif de défense de la colonie. Le gouverneur de Québec, sir George Prévost, souscrit à cette idée et donne à Salaberry le commandement des Voltigeurs canadiens. Ce corps d'infanterie financé par la province ne fait pas partie de l'armée britannique régulière, mais bénéficie d'un entraînement, d'un équipement et d'armement semblables. Il prend part à des opérations cruciales tant dans le Bas-Canada que dans le Haut-Canada, avant d'être démantelé en 1815. Les exploits des Voltigeurs confirment la loyauté des Canadiens français envers la couronne et leur héritage est source de fierté parmi eux.

 

Le lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel d'Irumberry de Salaberry est nommé à la tête du corps des Voltigeurs.

Charles-Michel de Salaberry est issu d'une grande famille francophone du Bas-Canada et, à titre d'officier du 60e Régiment de fantassins britannique, il possède une bonne expérience des combats à l'étranger. Comme la tension monte entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis, Salaberry propose la formation d'un corps de volontaires pour accroître l'effectif dans le but de contrer une éventuelle tentative d'invasion par les Américains. Le gouverneur en chef, sir George Prévost, le nomme commandant de ce corps d'infanterie connu sous le nom de Voltigeurs canadiens. Pendant la guerre, Prévost et Salaberry se disputent à plusieurs reprises sur des questions de commission et de reconnaissance des états de service, ce qui est une grande source de frustration pour Salaberry. Ses réalisations sont finalement reconnues en 1817 quand il est fait chevalier de l'Ordre du bain. Grâce à sa victoire à Châteauguay, Salaberry devient un héros populaire et la fierté de générations de Canadiens français.

Mai 1812               

Quatre bataillons de la milice d'élite du Bas-Canada sont levés.

9 mai 1812             

Les Royal Newfoundland Fencibles, alors en poste à Kingston, dans le Haut-Canada, reçoivent l'ordre de former cinq compagnies qui seront en service naval sur les Grands Lacs.

12 mai 1812

Le major-général Henry Dearborn, commandant du département du Nord des États-Unis, établit son quartier général à Albany, dans l'État de New York.

Été 1812

Le charismatique chef shawnee Tecumseh et sa confédération de Premières nations s'allient avec les Britanniques.

Tecumseh (Tech-kum-thai) est né vers l'an 1768 dans un village shawnee situé dans l'actuel État de l'Ohio. Dans les années 1790, il devient avec son frère, le prophète (Tenskwatawa), le leader d'un mouvement visant à restaurer et à préserver les valeurs traditionnelles des Amérindiens. Tecumseh croit qu'une grande confédération de Premières nations pourrait parvenir à repousser les pionniers blancs. Il effectue la tournée des peuples autochtones depuis la Floride jusqu'aux Grands Lacs pour faire la promotion de ses idées. Puisque les Américains lui semblent plus menaçants que les Britanniques, il s'allie à ces derniers en 1812 et rassemble une force importante de guerriers amérindiens. Il contribue à la prise de Détroit et participe à de nombreuses batailles en Ohio et dans le territoire du Michigan. Ce chef respecté et redouté est tué pendant la bataille de la Thames le 5 octobre 1813. 

5 juin 1812             

Sur le lac Ontario, l'USS Oneida saisit la goélette britannique Lord Nelson, la soupçonnant d'activités de contrebande, et la ramène à Sackets Harbor dans l'État de New York.

16 juin 1812

À la suite d'un hiver de grandes privations, la Grande-Bretagne suspend ses décrets à l'encontre des navires de commerce neutres.

18 juin 1812

Ignorant la suspension des décrets par les Britanniques, le président James Madison signe une déclaration de guerre à la Grande-Bretagne.

L'embargo imposé par les États-Unis incommode la Grande-Bretagne et la France, mais il nuit avant tout à l'économie américaine, plus particulièrement en Nouvelle-Angleterre. Ainsi, en mars 1809, le président en fonction Thomas Jefferson remplace la loi sur l'embargo (Embargo Act) par une nouvelle loi (Non-Intercourse Act) qui permet la reprise des échanges commerciaux, sauf ceux avec la Grande-Bretagne et la France. Cette loi est à nouveau remplacée en 1810, cette fois par le projet de loi n 2 de Macon (appelé ainsi d'après le représentant qui est à son origine, Nathaniel Macon), selon lequel les États-Unis reprennent les échanges commerciaux avec la Grande-Bretagne et la France, mais promettent de mettre fin aux échanges avec l'ennemi de la première des deux puissances à reconnaître leurs droits en tant que pays neutre. En 1811, la France s'étant déclarée prête à le faire, le gouvernement américain interdit à nouveau les échanges commerciaux avec la Grande-Bretagne. Le 16 juin 1812, à la suite d'un hiver de grandes privations, la Grande-Bretagne annonce qu'elle reconnaîtra également la neutralité des États-Unis. Cependant, lorsque cette nouvelle atteint Washington, les Américains ont déjà déclaré la guerre.

Juin 1812               

La nouvelle du déclenchement de la guerre entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis se propage rapidement parmi les postes britanniques grâce aux efforts déployés par John Jacob Astor, chef de la Compagnie de fourrures du Pacifique.

La nouvelle du déclenchement de la guerre se répand rapidement dans les postes britanniques isolés grâce aux réseaux commerciaux. En route pour Washington dans l'espoir de prévenir un conflit entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis, John Jacob Astor, ambitieux marchand new-yorkais qui fait le commerce des fourrures dans la région des Grands Lacs, apprend que la guerre a été déclarée. Pour éviter la saisie de ses biens en territoire britannique au fort St. Joseph, il envoie un message à ses employés de l'Ouest par diverses routes, notamment par l'entremise de ses agents à Montréal. Ceux-ci dépêchent un messager qui informe les postes britanniques sur son chemin. Ayant appris la nouvelle avant la garnison américaine du fort Mackinac, les Britanniques en poste au fort St. Joseph prennent Mackinac en juillet avant que les Américains puissent se préparer à une attaque. 

23 juin 1812           

Le premier combat de la guerre a lieu lorsque l'USS President et le HMS Belvidera s'échangent des coups de feu pendant une longue lutte au large de la côte du Connecticut.

25 juin 1812

La nouvelle de la déclaration de guerre atteint le fort George, dans le Haut-Canada. 

Des récits de l'époque mentionnent que des officiers américains en poste au fort Niagara ont été invités à dîner au fort George lorsque la nouvelle du déclenchement de la guerre arrive. Thomas Clark, un marchand de Queenston et un associé de John Jacob Astor, a reçu la nouvelle d'un certain monsieur Vosburgh la veille. Après avoir entendu la terrible nouvelle, les convives poursuivent leur repas et boivent à la santé du roi George et du président Madison, après quoi les Américains rentrent paisiblement à leur fort. Un journal américain rapporte que plusieurs Américains en visite dans le Haut‑Canada ont été traités avec une grande politesse par le gouverneur, c'est-à-dire le major-général Isaac Brock. La nouvelle du déclenchement de la guerre est très mal accueillie des deux côtés de la rivière Niagara. 

 

La nouvelle de la déclaration de guerre atteint Sackets Harbor, dans l'État de New York.

26 juin 1812 

Le gouverneur général sir George Prévost apprend à Québec la déclaration de guerre officielle faite par les Américains.

 

L'aubergiste Abner Hubbard et trois de ses compagnons partent en canot de la baie Mullin, dans l'État de New York, et atteignent l'île Carleton sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, où ils s'emparent du petit poste britannique occupé par un sergent, trois soldats et deux femmes.

27 juin 1812           

Le HMS Belvidera accoste à Halifax en Nouvelle-Écosse, où le vice-amiral Herbert Sawyer conclut que le combat qui a eu lieu avec l'USS President le 23 juin 1812 était accidentel.

 

Des embarcations provenant du HMS Queen Charlotte capturent le sloop américain Commencement au large du fort Érié, dans le Haut-Canada.

28 juin 1812

La nouvelle de la déclaration de guerre atteint le fort Amherstburg, dans le Haut-Canada.

29 juin 1812

La nouvelle de la déclaration de guerre officielle atteint Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

 

Une proclamation enjoint les citoyens américains de quitter la ville et le district de Québec, dans le Bas-Canada.

30 juin 1812

Des troupes américaines, dirigées par le brigadier-général William Hull, arrivent à la frontière de Détroit en provenance de Dayton, dans l'Ohio, pour préparer l'invasion de la partie sud-ouest du Haut-Canada.

 

← Précédent    |    Suivant →

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812


Section 1 : De 1775 à novembre 1811
Section 2 : De janvier 1812 à juin 1812
Section 3 : De juillet 1812 à septembre 1812
Section 4 : D'octobre 1812 à décembre 1812
Section 5 : De janvier 1813 à mars 1813
Section 6 : D'avril 1813 à juin 1813
Section 7 : De juillet 1813 à septembre 1813
Section 8 : D'octobre 1813 à décembre 1813
Section 9 : De janvier 1814 à mars 1814
Section 10 : D'avril 1814 à juin 1814
Section 11 : De juillet 1814 à décembre 1814
Section 12 : De janvier 1815 à 1871

Site web officiel du Gouvernement du Canada du bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812.

LIENS CONNEXES