Home / Accueil

Cape Spear Lighthouse

Blackhead Road, Highway 11, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Formally Recognized: 2002/06/20

General view of Cape Spear Lighthouse demonstrating the expression of neoclassical design principles in the large balanced rectangular windows on the ground floor topped by smaller ones (some false) on the upper storey, 2000.; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada 2000
General view
Landscape view of Cape Spear Lighthouse sitting on the edge of the cliff, 1981.; Agence Parcs Canada / Parks Canada Agency, J. Steeves, 1981.
Landscape view
General view of the Cape Spear Lighthouse, 1990.; Agence Parcs Canada / Parks Canada Agency, 1990.
General view

Other Name(s)

n/a

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

1835/01/01

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2005/04/19

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Cape Spear Lighthouse at Cape Spear National Historic Site of Canada is a Neoclassical, two storey, cubic building with clapboard siding, and a low hip-roof crowned with a solid stone circular lighthouse tower and polygonal lantern. Constructed in 1835, the Cape Spear Lighthouse is located on the most eastern point of Newfoundland and is the centrepiece of the Cape Spear National Historic Site of Canada. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

Cape Spear Lighthouse is a Classified Federal Heritage Building because of its historical associations, and its architectural and environmental values.

Historical value :
The Cape Spear Lighthouse is associated with the provisions of aid to navigation for the settlement of Newfoundland. Constructed in 1835, it was the first purpose-built lighthouse on the east coast of Newfoundland. The Cape Spear Lighthouse signalled the entry to St. John’s harbour for commercial shipping and navigation, and was the first Public Works project by the colonial legislature as well as the first project initiated by the commissioners of lighthouses. From the outset, shipping duties were levied on commercial ships to pay for the cost of maintaining the lighthouse. Members of the Cantwell family were the light-keepers of the lighthouse for over a century and throughout its functional life.

Architectural value :
The Cape Spear Lighthouse is an excellent interpretation of Neoclassicism applied to a lighthouse design, and is characterized by a well-proportioned composition and simple building forms. Well built and functionally well conceived, the Cape Spear Lighthouse is a skillful integration of two building types, a residence and a lighthouse, and is an elegant solution to a challenging functional program. The building’s solid construction also demonstrates the use of quality craftsmanship and materials some of which, such as the structural framing and interior masonry tower and lantern, have survived the harsh weather conditions for over a century.

Environmental value :
Located on the most eastern point of Newfoundland, the Cape Spear Lighthouse reinforces the dominant maritime setting of the rugged headland and natural coastline. The site is defined by the borders of the Cape Spear National Historic Site of Canada, and has retained its rugged character and its relationship to the surrounding landscape. The Cape Spear Lighthouse is one of the best-known symbols of the Avalon Peninsula, a distinction it shares with Cabot Tower and the Cape Bonavista Lighthouse.

Sources: Alexandra Mosquin, Cape Spear Lighthouse, St. John’s, Newfoundland. Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office Report 00-198; Cape Spear Lighthouse, St. John’s, Newfoundland; Heritage Character Statement 00-198.

Character-Defining Elements

The character-defining elements of Cape Spear Lighthouse should be respected.

Its role as an illustration of provision of aids to navigation for the settlement of Newfoundland, and as the first coastal light to signal entry to St. John’s harbour is reflected in:
- its strategic coastal location and its dominant view;
- the skillful integration of two building types, a residence and a lighthouse, which permitted the continuous and efficient performance of this coastal lighthouse despite the rugged landscape and harsh weather conditions.

Its excellent interpretation of early 19th century Neoclassicism, its quality craftsmanship and its good quality materials as manifested in:
- the well proportioned and symmetrical composition of the building which consists of simple forms such as the cubic volume of the residence, the pyramidal shape of the low hipped roof, the circular stone tower and the polygonal lantern with domed roof;
- the simple articulation of the building’s façades which are sharply defined and framed by the overhanging cornice, the wide horizontal planks at the base and cornice of the building, and the wide vertical wood planks evocative of pilasters at the corners of the building and between the windows, dividing the elevations into three bays;
- the rhythm established by the symmetrical placement and proportions of the ground floor’s double-hung windows, and the upper level’s smaller, rectangular false windows;
- the elegant scheme of exterior paint colours which consists of the square white residence and the red and white striped dome of the lantern;
- the functional interior layout of the residential spaces which are wrapped around the masonry tower;
- the well-crafted construction of the stone light tower and foundation and the wood structure and clapboard siding of the residence.

The manner in which this coastal lighthouse reinforces the maritime character of the setting as evidenced in:
- its relationship with the site, in particular its prominent location on a ridge at the end of a climbing path, isolated from the other buildings belonging to this National Historic Site;
- the contrast of the lighthouse’s bright white residence and distinctive red and white lantern with the rugged landscape of the rocky peninsula and expansive ocean which establish the maritime character of the setting;
- the building’s landmark value as the centerpiece of Cape Spear National Historic Site of Canada, and one of the best known symbols of the Avalon Peninsula.

Recognition

Jurisdiction

Federal

Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Treasury Board Heritage Buildings Policy

Recognition Type

Classified Federal Heritage Building

Recognition Date

2002/06/20

Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

n/a

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type

Current

Transport-Water
Navigational Aid or Lighthouse

Historic

Architect / Designer

n/a

Builder

n/a

Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier

9547

Status

Published

Related Places

General view

Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada

Set high on a bluff overlooking the approaches to St. John's harbour Cape Spear Lighthouse is a visual icon of the province of Newfoundland. Restored by Parks Canada to its early…

SEARCH THE CANADIAN REGISTER

Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Find Nearby PlacesFIND NEARBY PLACES PrintPRINT
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Phare de cap Spear

Chemin Blackhead, autoroute 11, St. John's, Terre-Neuve et Labrador, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 2002/06/20

Vue générale du phare du cap Spear montrant l’expression des principes de la conception néoclassique dans les larges fenêtres rectangulaires régulières du rez-de-chaussée, surmontées de petites fenêtres, dont certaines sont factices, à l’étage supérieur, ; Parks Canada Agency / Agence Parcs Canada 2000
Vue générale
Vue du paysage et le phare du cap Spear situé sur le bord de la falaise, 1981.; Agence Parcs Canada / Parks Canada Agency, J. Steeves, 1981.
Vue du paysage
Vue générale du Phare du cap Spear, 1990.; Agence Parcs Canada / Parks Canada Agency, 1990.
Vue générale

Autre nom(s)

s/o

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

1835/01/01

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2005/04/19

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le phare du cap Spear au lieu historique national du Canada du Cap-Spear est un édifice néoclassique de plan carré à deux étages. Il a un recouvrement de planches à clins et un toit en croupe peu pentu surmonté d’une tour de phare circulaire en pierre massive et d’un fanal polygonal. Construit en 1835, Le phare du cap Spear se situe dans la partie la plus orientale de Terre-Neuve et il est le cœur du lieu historique national du Canada du Cap-Spear. La désignation se limite au tracé au sol du bâtiment.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le phare du cap Spear a été désigné édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en raison de ses associations historiques et de son importance architecturale et environnementale.

Valeur historique :
Le phare du cap Spear est associé à la fourniture d’une aide à la navigation pendant le peuplement de Terre-Neuve. Construit en 1835, il a été le premier phare aménagé à cette fin sur la côte est de Terre-Neuve. Le phare du cap Spear signalait l’entrée dans le port de St. John’s aux navires commerciaux et autres embarcations, et il a été le premier projet de Travaux publics réalisé par l’assemblée législative coloniale ainsi que le premier projet entrepris par les commissionnaires des phares. Dès le début, des droits d’expédition ont été imposés aux navires commerciaux pour payer les frais d’entretien du phare. Des membres de la famille Cantwell ont été les gardiens du phare tout au long de son exploitation, pendant plus d’un siècle.

Valeur architecturale :
Le phare du cap Spear est une excellente interprétation de Néoclassicisme appliqué à la conception d’un phare; il se caractérise par une composition bien proportionnée et des formes construites simples. Bien bâti et fonctionnellement bien conçu, Le phare du cap Spear intègre adroitement deux types de bâtiments, une résidence et un phare et il représente une solution élégante à un programme fonctionnel exigeant. La construction solide du bâtiment démontre aussi l’utilisation de matériaux de qualité et la maîtrise de leur mise en œuvre, notamment pour la charpente et la maçonnerie intérieure de la tour et du fanal, qui ont su résister aux rudes conditions atmosphériques durant plus d’un siècle.

Valeur environnementale :
Situé à l’extrémité est de Terre-Neuve, Le phare du cap Spear renforce le cadre maritime de son promontoire accidenté et du littoral naturel. L’emplacement, délimité par le lieu historique national du Canada du Cap-Spear, a conservé son caractère accidenté et son lien avec le paysage environnant. Le phare du cap Spear est l’un des symboles les mieux connus de la presqu’île Avalon, une distinction qu’il partage avec la tour Cabot et le Phare du cap Bonavista.

Sources : Alexandra Mosquin, Phare du Cap-Spear, Saint-Jean (Terre-Neuve) ; Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine, Rapport de recherche 00-198; Phare du Cap-Spear, Saint-Jean (Terre-Neuve) ; Énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale 00-198.

Éléments caractéristiques

Les éléments caractéristiques du phare du cap Spear devraient être respectés.

Son rôle d’aide à la navigation dans le cadre du peuplement de Terre-Neuve et de premier phare annonçant l’entrée dans le port de St. John’s qui se reflète dans les éléments suivants :
- l’emplacement côtier stratégique et la vue panoramique;
- l’intégration habile de deux types de bâtiment, une résidence et un phare, ayant permis le fonctionnement continu et efficace du phare côtier en dépit du terrain accidenté et des rudes conditions météorologiques.

Son excellente interprétation du néoclassicisme du début du XIXe siècle, la qualité de l’exécution et des matériaux, dont témoignent :
- la composition symétrique et bien proportionnée de l’édifice, les formes simples comme le volume cubique de la résidence, la forme pyramidale du toit en croupe bas, la tour circulaire en pierre et la lanterne polygonale surmontée d’un dôme;
- l’articulation simple des façades, nettement définies et encadrées par la corniche qui les surplombe, les larges planches horizontales à la base et à la corniche de l’édifice, et les larges planches verticales évoquant des pilastres aux coins de l’édifice et entre les fenêtres, divisant les élévations en trois baies;
- le rythme établi par les proportions et la disposition symétriques des fenêtres à guillotine du rez-de-chaussée, et les plus petites fenêtres aveugles rectangulaires du niveau supérieur;
- l’élégante combinaison des couleurs extérieures : le blanc de la résidence carrée et les rayures rouges et blanches du dôme de la lanterne;
- la disposition intérieure fonctionnelle des espaces résidentiels, organisés autour de la tour de maçonnerie;
- la construction soignée de la tour et des fondations de pierre et la structure de bois et le bardage à clin de la résidence.

La manière dont ce phare côtier renforce le caractère maritime de son cadre:
- ses liens avec son emplacement, en particulier son implantation éminente sur une crête à l’extrémité d’un sentier qui monte, et son emplacement qui le distingue des autres édifices de ce lieu historique national;
- le contraste du blanc vif de la résidence et du rouge et blanc distinctifs de la lanterne avec le paysage accidenté de la péninsule rocheuse et l’océan à perte de vue qui établissent le caractère maritime du lieu ;
- la valeur emblématique de l’édifice en tant que principal point d’intérêt du lieu historique national du Canada du Cap-Spear et l’un des symboles les plus connus de la presqu’île d’Avalon.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les édifices du patrimoine

Type de reconnaissance

Édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé

Date de reconnaissance

2002/06/20

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

s/o

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Transport maritime
Phare ou aide à la navigation

Historique

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

9547

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

General view

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Cap-Spear

Perché sur un promontoire et surveillant les abords du port de St. John’s, le phare du Cap Spear constitue un emblème de la province de Terre-Neuve. Le phare dont la structure a…

General view

Phare de Cap Spear (ancien)

Le phare de Cap Spear (ancien) comprend le phare lui-même et la résidence du gardien, un concept fréquemment utilisé au XIXe siècle. Construite en 1835, la tour de pierre…

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches