Home / Accueil

Battle of Lundy's Lane National Historic Site of Canada

Niagara Falls, Ontario, L2H, Canada

Formally Recognized: 1937/05/20

General view of the Battle of Lundy's Lane monument within Drummond Hill Cemetery, 1925.; Archives of Ontario / Archives publiques de l'Ontario, F 1075-13, H 1065, 1925.
General view
No Image
No Image

Other Name(s)

Battle of Lundy's Lane National Historic Site of Canada
Battle of Lundy's Lane
Bataille de la ruelle de Lundy

Links and documents

Construction Date(s)

Listed on the Canadian Register: 2009/04/17

Statement of Significance

Description of Historic Place

The Battle of Lundy’s Lane National Historic Site of Canada is located in Niagara Falls, Ontario. The battle occurred on July 25, 1814 on what was a rise of clear farmland surrounded by an orchard and forest, situated upon Lundy’s Lane. The location of the site is now marked by a plaque located within Drummond Hill Cemetery. Lundy’s Lane was the site of a major battle between the British and American forces in which the Americans, who were advancing after the Battle of Chippewa, attacked the British defensive position that they had taken up. Following a bitterly contested engagement, the Americans withdrew. The six-hour long battle was one of the bloodiest battles of the War of 1812 and marked the end of American offensive action in Upper Canada. Official recognition refers to a parcel of land in the City of Niagara Falls that is roughly four-blocks square and encompasses the site of the battle.

Heritage Value

The Battle of Lundy’s Lane was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1937 because:
- it was the bloodiest battle of the War of 1812; and,
- the Americans failed to dislodge the British from their position, ending the American offensive in Upper Canada.

In the summer of 1814, American forces crossed the Niagara River at Fort Erie to invade Upper Canada. Advancing northward along the Niagara River, they had initial success, defeating a British force at the Battle of Chippawa. The British under Sir Gordon Drummond regrouped and on the evening of 25 July, on Lundy’s Lane almost within sight of Niagara Falls, the British regulars and Canadian fencibles and militia were attacked by the American forces. Throughout the evening the two armies attacked each other and the battle surged back and forth, especially around the field guns in what is now the Drummond Hill Cemetery. Both sides suffered heavy casualties but by midnight the Americans retired leaving the exhausted British and Canadians holding the field. The Battle of Lundy’s Lane was the bloodiest and bitterest contest of the War of 1812 and it broke the American thrust in 1814 to take Upper Canada.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, October 1937, October 1963, October 1966, October 2008.

Character-Defining Elements

- its location within the limits of Niagara Falls;
- the setting on a grassed area of the Drummond Hill Cemetery where the plaque commemorating the site is located;
- the location and integrity of the monument to the battle erected in 1895, and the three tablets fixed to the monument in 1935 that bear the names of the officers and soldiers of the regular regiments of the British Army and Canadian militia killed in action during the engagement;
- the integrity of any surviving or as yet unidentified archaeological remains which may be found within the site in their original placement and extent.




Recognition Authority

Government of Canada

Recognition Statute

Historic Sites and Monuments Act

Recognition Type

National Historic Site of Canada

Recognition Date


Historical Information

Significant Date(s)

1814/07/25 to 1814/07/25

Theme - Category and Type

Function - Category and Type



Battle Site

Architect / Designer




Additional Information

Location of Supporting Documentation

National Historic Sites Directorate, Documentation Centre, 5th Floor, Room 89, 25 Eddy Street, Gatineau, Quebec

Cross-Reference to Collection

Fed/Prov/Terr Identifier




Related Places



Advanced SearchAdvanced Search
Nearby Places

Home / Accueil

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-la-Ruelle-de-Lundy

Niagara Falls, Ontario, L2H, Canada

Reconnu formellement en: 1937/05/20

Vue générale du monument de la Bataille de Lundy’s Lane au cimetière Drummond Hill, 1925.; Archives of Ontario / Archives publiques de l'Ontario, F 1075-13, H 1065, 1925.
Vue générale
Pas d'image
Pas d'image

Autre nom(s)

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-la-Ruelle-de-Lundy
Battle of Lundy's Lane
Bataille de la ruelle de Lundy

Liens et documents

Date(s) de construction

Inscrit au répertoire canadien: 2009/04/17

Énoncé d'importance

Description du lieu patrimonial

Situé à Niagara Falls en Ontario, le lieu historique national du Canada de la Bataille-de-Lundy’s-Lane commémore les combats du 25 juillet 1814 qui se sont déroulés sur des terres agricoles entourées d’un verger et d’une forêt sur Lundy’s Lane. Une plaque installée au cimetière Drummond Hill marque l’emplacement de cette bataille. En effet, Lundy's Lane fut le site d'une grande bataille entre les forces britanniques et américaines dans laquelle les Américains, qui gagnèrent du terrain après la bataille de Chippewa, attaquèrent les positions défensives britanniques qu’ils avaient installés. Suite à l'engagement férocement disputé, les Américains furent vaincus et forcés au retrait de leurs troupes. Cette bataille qui dura six heures, fut l’une des plus sanglantes de la guerre de 1812, et marqua la fin de l’offensive américaine dans le Haut-Canada. La reconnaissance officielle fait référence à une parcelle de terre située dans la ville de Niagara Falls, qui couvre environ quatre pâtés de maison et englobe le champ de bataille.

Valeur patrimoniale

La bataille de Lundy’s Lane a été désignée lieu historique national du Canada en 1937 pour les raisons suivantes :
- cette bataille a été la plus sanglante de toute l'histoire de la guerre de 1812;
- les Américains ont été incapables de déloger les Britanniques de leurs positions, et cet échec a marqué la fin de l'offensive américaine dans le Haut-Canada.

Au cours de l’été de 1814, les forces américaines traversèrent la rivière Niagara, à la hauteur du fort Érié, pour envahir le Haut Canada. Au début, leur avancée vers le nord le long de la rivière Niagara se déroula bien, et les forces américaines réussirent à défaire des troupes britanniques dans la bataille de Chippawa. Les Britanniques, dirigés par sir Gordon Drummond, se regroupèrent et, le soir du 25 juillet, les troupes régulières britanniques ainsi que les soldats des Fencibles et les miliciens canadiens assaillirent les forces américaines dans Lundy’s Lane, non loin de Niagara Falls. Les deux armées s’affrontèrent toute la soirée, ne cessant d’attaquer et de contre attaquer, notamment pour prendre possession des canons de campagne installés où se trouve aujourd’hui le cimetière Drummond Hill. Les deux camps subirent de lourdes pertes, mais à minuit, les Américains se retirèrent, laissant les Britanniques et les Canadiens épuisés, maîtres de leur position. La bataille de Lundy’s Lane fut le combat le plus sanglant et le plus violent de la guerre de 1812; elle a anéanti tous les espoirs des Américains de conquérir le Haut Canada en 1814.

Sources : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, procès verbal, octobre 1937, octobre 1963, octobre 1966, octobre 2008.

Éléments caractéristiques

- son emplacement à l’intérieur des limites de Niagara Falls;
- son cadre, dans un secteur herbeux du cimetière Drummond Hill où se trouve la plaque commémorative du lieu;
- l'emplacement et l'intégrité du monument de la bataille érigé en 1895, et les trois plaques fixées au monument en 1935 qui portent les noms des officiers et des soldats des régiments réguliers de l'armée britannique et de la milice canadienne tués au combat lors de l'engagement ;
- l’intégrité des vestiges archéologiques qui subsistent ou qui n’ont pas encore été mise à jour, mais qui pourraient être à leur emplacement et leur état d’origine.

Reconnaissance

Juridiction

Fédéral

Autorité de reconnaissance

Gouvernement du Canada

Loi habilitante

Loi sur les lieux historiques nationaux

Type de reconnaissance

Lieu historique national du Canada

Date de reconnaissance

1937/05/20

Données sur l'histoire

Date(s) importantes

1814/07/25 à 1814/07/25

Thème - catégorie et type

Catégorie de fonction / Type de fonction

Actuelle

Historique

Défense
Lieu de bataille

Architecte / Concepteur

s/o

Constructeur

s/o

Informations supplémentaires

Emplacement de la documentation

Direction générale des lieux historiques nationaux, Centre de documentation, 5ième étage, salle 89, 25, rue Eddy, Gatineau, Québec

Réfère à une collection

Identificateur féd./prov./terr.

428

Statut

Édité

Inscriptions associées

s/o

RECHERCHE DANS LE RÉPERTOIRE

Recherche avancéeRecherche avancée
Trouver les lieux prochesTROUVER LES LIEUX PROCHES ImprimerIMPRIMER
Lieux proches