Home / Accueil

War of 1812 Timeline: January 1814 - March 1814

Timeline PDF

January 1814 - March 1814

1814

Arrival of British reinforcements at Quebec City, Lower Canada: 76th Regiment, 26th Regiment, 27th Regiment.

 

Early in 1814 the British construct defences on Bridge Island, Upper Canada as a shelter for the supply bateaux travelling on the St. Lawrence River.

January 1814 

 

Construction begins on cavalry barracks at Blairfindie, located between Laprairie and St-Jean, Lower Canada.

Concerned with reinforcing waterway invasion routes, the British also had to secure the network of roads along the exposed region in Lower Canada between the St. Lawrence and Richelieu Rivers bordering on New York State.  This crucial area could be used to support a larger naval assault along these waterways.  Since most roads led to Montreal, the colony's commercial hub, the British concentrated much of their strength there, especially along the road from St. Jean, on the Richelieu River, to La Prairie, opposite Montreal.  Between these posts, Halfway House, or Blairfindie Barracks, was established to accommodate 90 soldiers and 100 horses.  These cavalry barracks were strategically located at the intersection of roads linking main villages as well as leading to the border.

 

Gunboats are constructed at Coteau-du-Lac , Lower Canada.

 

American delegates travel to Europe to begin peace negotiations.

January-March 1814

The Creek War continues in the Mississippi Territory. In engagements at Emuckfau Creek, Enotochopco Creek, Calabee Creek and Tohopeka (Horseshoe Bend) the United States breaks the military power of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation.

10 January 1814   

An American patrol is captured by Lower Canada militia at Clough's Farm near Missisiquoi Bay, Lower Canada.

16-24 January 1814

British raids on Franklin County, New York.

29 January 1814

The citizens of Saint John, New Brunswick respond overwhelmingly to a request for sleds and sleighs to convey a group of Royal Navy seamen to Fredericton en route to the Canadas.

 

A British General Order is issued announcing that the fortification at Prescott, Upper Canada will be called Fort Wellington.

2-3 February 1814

Two divisions (217 men) of seamen depart Fredericton, New Brunswick for the Canadas.

In December 1813, anxious to obtain crews for two ships under construction in Kingston, Upper Canada Commodore Sir James Lucas Yeo looked eastward for reinforcements. In January 1814, 217 men from HMS Fantome and HMS Arab sailed from Halifax, Nova Scotia to Saint John, New Brunswick en route to the Canadas by land. The citizens of Saint John responded overwhelmingly to a request for sleighs to convey the men to Fredericton, for which they departed on 29 and 30 January. They then left Fredericton on 2 and 3 February, reaching Quebec, Lower Canada on 1 March. Hard on their heels came six companies (440 men) of the 2nd Battalion, 8th Regiment, who were reported to have arrived in Quebec by 10 March.

6 February 1814

A small group of Royal Marines and Upper Canadian Militia from Cornwall, Upper Canada raid Madrid, New York.

14 February 1814

USS Constitution captures schooner HMS Pictou, in the western Atlantic Ocean.

14-15 February 1814

British raids along the Salmon River, New York.

17 February 1814

Militia General Orders issued by Adjutant-General J. F. Holland complete a reorganization of Prince Edward Island's volunteer and regular militia units.

19 & 24 February 1814

British raids along the Salmon River, and at Malone and Four Corners, all in New York.

March 1814  

Arrival of British reinforcements at Quebec City, Lower Canada via the route from New Brunswick: 2nd Battalion of the 8th Regiment, crew members of HMS Fantome and Arab.

 

The provincial militia unit Loyal Essex Volunteers is formed in Upper Canada.

4 March 1814

Battle of Longwoods, Upper Canada.

After the American victory at the Battle of the Thames in October 1813, large stretches of southwest Upper Canada became a no man's land. Both armies sent detachments to forage for provisions, which sometimes resulted in clashes.  Upon receiving news that a group of 200 Americans were on their way to strike at Delaware, Upper Canada the British sent a detachment of 240 troops commanded by Captain James Basden to meet the invaders.  Commanded by Captain Andrew Holmes, the U.S. force built a makeshift breastwork atop what came to be known as " Battle Hill."  With the Americans well entrenched on the rise, the British suffered many casualties during the hour and a half-long battle and finally retreated while Holmes' force returned victorious to Detroit.

12 March 1814

The 5th Battalion of the Lower Canada Select Embodied Militia is transformed into a light infantry unit known as Chasseurs canadiens.

22 March 1814

American raids on Missisiquoi Bay, Lower Canada.

28 March 1814

HMS Phoebe and HMS Cherub defeat USS Essex, and Essex Junior, off of Valparaiso, Chile. Essex had been a very successful commerce raider attacking British merchant vessels and whaling ships in the southern Atlantic and Pacific Oceans.

30 March 1814

Second Battle of Lacolle, Lower Canada.

After the failed 1813 Montreal campaign, Major General James Wilkinson made a last-ditch effort to invade Lower Canada and restore his reputation.  Leading a force of 4,000 regulars, he left Champlain, New York, crossed the border and occupied Odelltown before marching to Lacolle , a fortified British outpost.  There Wilkinson attacked a 180 soldier garrison commanded by Major Richard Hancock, which occupied a stone mill guarding the crossing of the Lacolle River.  American artillery had little effect on the mill and soon after fighting commenced the British began receiving reinforcements from the Canadian Fencibles, Voltigeurs canadiens and the 30th Regiment from Ile aux Noix Failing to easily secure Lacolle and hindered by poor weather, Wilkinson withdrew to Lake Champlain and was later relieved of command. 

31 March 1814

Allied armies of Prussia, Austria and Russia enter Paris, France, defeating Napoleon and restoring Bourbon monarch Louis XVIII.

Spring 1814          

The fortifications at Lacolle, Lower Canada are repaired and strengthened surrounding the windmill and blockh ouse.

 

The British commence construction of Fort Drummond at Queenston Heights, Upper Canada.

In the late spring of 1814, Fort Drummond was constructed at Queenston Heights.  Named after Lieutenant-Governor Sir Gordon Drummond, the fort consisted of earthworks surrounding a blockhouse for 100 men, and a u-shaped advanced battery facing the Niagara River.  Fort Drummond supported the Redan battery that overlooked the village of Queenston and the strategically important Portage Road. After the American victory at the Battle of Chippawa, Major-General Phineas Riall retreated to Twelve Mile Creek, Upper Canada.  He held the forts at the mouth of the Niagara River, but abandoned Fort Drummond on 10 July.  An American army led by Major General Jacob Brown occupied the position for two weeks, before the bloody battle of Lundy's Lane. 

← Back    |    Next →

War of 1812 Timeline


Section 1: 1775 - November 1811
Section 2: January 1812 - June 1812
Section 3: July 1812 - September 1812
Section 4: October 1812 - December 1812
Section 5: January 1813 - March 1813
Section 6: April 1813 - June 1813
Section 7: July 1813 - September 1813
Section 8: October 1813 - December 1813
Section 9: January 1814 - March 1814
Section 10: April 1814 - June 1814
Section 11: July 1814 - December 1814
Section 12: January 1815 - 1871

Government of Canada official War of 1812 Bicentennial Website

RELATED LINKS

Home / Accueil

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812 - De janvier 1814 à mars 1814

Chronologie PDF


De janvier 1814 à mars 1814

1814

Arrivée de renforts britanniques à Québec : le 76e régiment, le 26e régiment et le 27e régiment.

 

Au début de 1814, les Britanniques construisent des ouvrages défensifs sur l'île Bridge, dans le Haut-Canada, pour protéger les bateaux qui transportent des provisions sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Janvier 1814 

 

On amorce la construction des casernes de la cavalerie à Blairfindie, entre Laprairie et Saint-Jean dans le Bas-Canada.

En plus de se soucier du renforcement des voies navigables pour prévenir les invasions, les Britanniques doivent aussi sécuriser le réseau routier le long des régions exposées du Bas-Canada situées entre le Saint-Laurent et la rivière Richelieu et bordant la frontière de l'État de New York. Cette zone stratégique pourrait servir d'appui à une vaste attaque navale le long de ces cours d'eau. Comme la plupart des chemins mènent à Montréal, haut lieu du commerce dans la colonie, les Britanniques concentrent ici la majeure partie de leurs forces, surtout sur la route menant de Saint-Jean, sur la rivière Richelieu, jusqu'à La Prairie sur la rive sud de Montréal. À mi-chemin de ces deux postes se trouvent les casernes de Blairfindie qui peuvent accueillir quatre-vingt-dix soldats et une centaine de chevaux. Ces casernes de cavalerie sont situées en un point stratégique, à l'intersection de chemins menant aux villages principaux ainsi qu'à une route menant à la frontière.

 

Des canonnières sont construites à Coteau-du-Lac , dans le Bas-Canada.

 

Des délégués américains se rendent en Europe pour amorcer des négociations de paix.

De janvier à mars 1814

La guerre des Creek se poursuit dans le territoire du Mississippi. Lors de combats près de Tohopeka (Horseshoe Bend) et des ruisseaux Emuckfau, Enotochopco et Calabee, les États-Unis sapent la puissance militaire de la nation Muscogee (Creek).

10 janvier 1814    

Une patrouille américaine est capturée par la milice du Bas-Canada à la ferme Clough près de la baie Missisquoi, dans le Bas-Canada.

Du 16 au
24 janvier 1814

Les Britanniques lancent des raids sur le comté de Franklin, dans l'État de New York.

29 janvier 1814

Les citoyens de Saint John au Nouveau-Brunswick répondent avec enthousiasme lorsqu'on leur demande de fournir des traîneaux et des carrioles pour transporter jusqu'à Fredericton un groupe de marins de la Royal Navy en route pour les Canadas.

 

Les Britanniques promulguent une ordonnance générale annonçant que les fortifications de Prescott, dans le Haut-Canada, seront appelées fort Wellington.

2 et 3 février 1814

Deux divisions (217 hommes) de marins quittent Fredericton au Nouveau-Brunswick pour les Canadas.

En décembre 1813, désirant attribuer rapidement des équipages à deux navires en construction à Kingston, dans le Haut-Canada, le commodore sir James Lucas Yeo fait venir des renforts de l'Est. En janvier 1814, 217 hommes quittent Halifax en Nouvelle-Écosse pour Saint John au Nouveau-Brunswick à bord du HMS Fantome et du HMS Arab. Ils poursuivront leur voyage par voie terrestre jusqu'aux Canadas. Les citoyens de Saint John répondent avec générosité lorsqu'on leur demande de fournir des traîneaux pour la prochaine étape du voyage, le transport des hommes jusqu'à Fredericton, qui commence les 29 et 30 janvier. Les troupes quittent ensuite Fredericton les 2 et 3 février et, le 1er mars, atteignent  Québec dans le Bas-Canada. Six compagnies (440 hommes) du 2e bataillon du 8e régiment les suivent de près. On rapporte qu'ils sont arrivés à Québec le 10 mars.

6 février 1814

Un petit groupe de soldats des Royal Marines et de miliciens basés à Cornwall dans le Haut-Canada lancent une attaque contre Madrid dans l'État de New York.

14 février 1814

L'USS Constitution capture la goélette HMS Pictou dans l'Ouest de l'Atlantique.

14 et 15 février 1814

Des raids britanniques sont lancés le long de la rivière Salmon, dans l'État de New York.

17 février 1814

L'adjudant-général J. F. Holland promulgue des ordonnances générales qui complètent la réorganisation des unités de milice volontaires et régulières sur l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

19 et 24 février 1814

Les Britanniques font des incursions le long de la rivière Salmon ainsi qu'à Malone et Four Corners, tous dans l'État de New York.

Mars 1814  

Arrivée de renforts britanniques à Québec, par voie terrestre depuis le Nouveau-Brunswick : le 2e bataillon du 8e régiment ainsi que les équipages du HMS Fantome et Arab.

 

L'unité de la milice provinciale des volontaires loyaux d'Essex est créée dans le Haut‑Canada.

4 mars 1814

Bataille de Longwoods, dans le Haut-Canada.

Après la victoire américaine à la bataille de la Thames en octobre 1813, de vastes secteurs du Sud-Ouest du Haut-Canada sont abandonnés. Les deux armées y envoient des détachements à la recherche de provisions, ce qui déclenche parfois des affrontements. Apprenant la nouvelle qu'une troupe de 200 Américains se dirige vers Delaware dans le Haut-Canada pour attaquer la ville, les Britanniques envoient un détachement de 240 soldats sous les ordres du capitaine James Basden pour affronter les envahisseurs. Commandée par le capitaine Andrew Holmes, la force américaine érige un épaulement de fortune sur ce qu'on appellera plus tard la «  colline de la bataille ». Les Américains étant bien retranchés sur la butte, les Britanniques subissent de nombreuses pertes pendant la confrontation d'une heure et demie, et battent finalement en retraite. Les troupes victorieuses de Holmes rentrent à Détroit.

12 mars 1814

Le 5e bataillon de la milice d'élite du Bas-Canada est transformé en unité d'infanterie légère, désormais appelée les Chasseurs canadiens.

22 mars 1814

Des raids américains ont lieu dans la baie Missisquoi, dans le Bas-Canada.

28 mars 1814

Le HMS Phoebe et le HMS Cherub remportent une victoire contre l'USS Essex et l'Essex Junior au large de Valparaíso, au Chili. L'Essex est un corsaire très efficace qui a attaqué de nombreux baleiniers et navires marchands britanniques dans la partie sud des océans Atlantique et Pacifique.

30 mars 1814

Deuxième bataille du Moulin de Lacolle, dans le Bas-Canada.

Après ses attaques infructueuses contre Montréal en 1813, le major général James Wilkinson tente une dernière fois d'envahir le Bas-Canada et ainsi de rétablir sa réputation. À la tête d'une armée de 4 000 soldats réguliers, il quitte Champlain dans l'État de New York, traverse la frontière et occupe Odelltown avant de marcher sur l'avant-poste britannique fortifié de Lacolle . Il passe à l'attaque contre une garnison de 180 hommes sous les ordres du major Richard Hancock, qui occupe un moulin en pierre protégeant la traverse de la rivière Lacolle. L'artillerie américaine s'avère inefficace contre le moulin et peu après le début des combats, les Britanniques peuvent compter sur les renforts des Territoriaux canadiens, des Voltigeurs canadiens et du 30e Régiment de l'île aux Noix. Incapable de s'emparer facilement de Lacolle et gêné par les mauvaises conditions climatiques, Wilkinson bat en retraite au lac Champlain avant d'être finalement relevé de ses fonctions. 

31 mars 1814

Les armées alliées de la Prusse, de l'Autriche et de la Russie entrent dans Paris, en France. Elles ont vaincu Napoléon et restaurent la monarchie bourbonienne en plaçant Louis XVIII sur le trône.

Printemps 1814   

Les fortifications de Lacolle, dans le Bas-Canada, sont réparées et améliorées autour du moulin et du blockhaus .

 

Les Britanniques commencent la construction du fort Drummond sur les hauteurs de Queenston, dans le Haut-Canada.

Vers la fin du printemps 1814, le fort Drummond est érigé sur les hauteurs de Queenston. Ce fort, qui porte le nom du lieutenant-gouverneur sir Gordon Drummond, est constitué de remblais qui entourent un blockhaus pouvant abriter 100 hommes, ainsi que d'une batterie avancée en forme de fer à cheval qui fait face à la rivière Niagara. Il a pour fonction de protéger la batterie du redan qui surplombe le village de Queenston de même que la route de portage, qui a une importance stratégique. Après la victoire américaine à la bataille de Chippawa, le major-général Phineas Riall recule jusqu'au ruisseau Twelve Mile, dans le Haut-Canada. Il défend les forts à l'embouchure de la rivière Niagara, mais abandonne le fort Drummond le 10 juillet. Une armée américaine dirigée par le major-général Jacob Brown occupe le fort pendant deux semaines avant la bataille sanglante de Lundy's Lane.

← Précédent    |    Suivant →

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812


Section 1 : De 1775 à novembre 1811
Section 2 : De janvier 1812 à juin 1812
Section 3 : De juillet 1812 à septembre 1812
Section 4 : D'octobre 1812 à décembre 1812
Section 5 : De janvier 1813 à mars 1813
Section 6 : D'avril 1813 à juin 1813
Section 7 : De juillet 1813 à septembre 1813
Section 8 : D'octobre 1813 à décembre 1813
Section 9 : De janvier 1814 à mars 1814
Section 10 : D'avril 1814 à juin 1814
Section 11 : De juillet 1814 à décembre 1814
Section 12 : De janvier 1815 à 1871

Site web officiel du Gouvernement du Canada du bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812

LIENS CONNEXES